Nothing-but-Good Cookies

I like to bake and I like to cook mostly because I like to eat and having Celiac Disease makes that tricky. I’ve been learning both over the years and am finally at a place where I feel truly comfortable improvising.

Cooking and baking with an infant is a whole new level of chaos. I have fried bacon while he slept in the Ergo and somehow managed to breastfeed whole baking cookies. These cookies were mixed yesterday and baked today, all while he was awake and I have no idea how that happened. Usually, I get a decent dinner or something sweet made after he is in bed. I’ve also somehow made three quiches, and need to do that again!

This recipe I wrote up is based on one going around Facebook lately. When improvising cookies, it’s all about the balance of wet and dry ingredients (said a wise friend of mine). This is my third attempt at this recipe and by far my favorite. The rolled oats are beneficial for milk supply and I plan to try another batch with some flax and Brewer’s yeast for added benefit. Don’t be afraid of the vague measurements and changeable ingredients. Embrace them!

20130609-220258.jpg

Mash
~Three overripe bananas
~1/4 cup some kind of milk substance (I have used cow, almond, and canned coconut)
~1/3 cup applesauce (I used a single serve cup that I didn’t like the flavor of)
~dash of vanilla
~eyeballed 1/2 cup peanut butter

Stir
~2 cups gf rolled oats
~some raw cacao powder (no idea how much I put in) (use baking cocoa if you must but this is totally optional and you could do cinnamon or something instead)
~some shredded coconut (1/3 cup?)

Last
~Chocolate chips (1/2 cup?) (nuts or raisins would work if you’re into that kind of thing)

In a bowl, mash up the mash-able stuff then add the stir-able stuff (except chocolate chips) and stir it up.

Smoosh it down into the bowl and cover with plastic wrap so there’s no air in it. Refrigerate for a while, which is usually overnight for me. This makes the oats nice and soft and the cookie holds together better.

Preheat oven to 350. Add in chocolate chips (or nuts or raisins) and stir it together. On pans lined with parchment paper, spoon out your dough and shape how you want them. They don’t rise or spread so how you place them is what you get. It usually takes 25 minutes or so. Transfer on parchment paper to racks to cool. I store them in an airtight container and might need to fridge them when it’s hot.

Only have two bananas? Roll with it and decrease the other amounts a little. You can change it up pretty easily and it’s all good. So, it can be gluten free, vegan, sugarless, and all around yummy. I think this was my beat batch yet!

About goodfamiliesdo

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Breast Feeding, food, Late Night Post. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

