Just One Me

I am not one parent doing the job of two. I am just one parent doing my job. I do not need congratulations or approval for filling the shoes of a second parent. There isn’t another pair of shoes, just mine. I don’t need to be acknowledged on Father’s Day. I’m not a dad, just a mom.

I do feel super human frequently but I’m also fallible. (I’ve got that tattooed on my chest so I don’t forget it.) I rise to the challenges of being a single mom. I chose this path. I pat my own back when I complete feats of superhuman strength, endurance, patience, and love. My pride is intrinsic.

Somedays, I don’t know how I do it. But I do and I keep doing it. The rewards are in the details, the moments between.

Somedays, I wonder how it could be different if I had chosen a different path. I can see the benefits but I wouldn’t change it. I wonder how it will all keep changing, how it will change me.

Saying a single mom does the job of mom and dad (or mom) is asinine like saying you give 110%. Just try to do that math…

I’m just one me.

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in background, Late Night Post, Parenting, Single Mother by Choice - SMC and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just One Me

  1. Lindsay says:

    Amen! I completely agree. I’m not “mom and dad”. I’m mom. End of story. Our job is freakin’ hard. But we’re both rocking it if I do say so myself.

  2. Maybe it’s because we don’t have someone else to put down by saying we are them too?

  3. I have mad respect for single moms. Especially by choice moms. I don’t know if I could do it. The single moms “pulling dad duty too” thing has always confused me. Seems silly. Keep on keeping on and being a kick ass mom!

Leave a Reply

