Clueless

Wallace and I walked to the grocery store. He walked down the two flights of stairs and all the way there, then I swung him up on my back to shop. As we came out of the store, we passed by the fancy chain gym next door. To set the scene, remember that I am carrying Wallace on my back and three grocery bags. I saw two men standing outside the gym, attempting to hand out trial memberships.

Me: you two look awfully suspicious with those clipboards! (That was my way of trying to be friendly but brush off the offer they were about to make.)
Guy: hey, you look like you could use a gym membership!
Me: oh, really? You might need to work on your opener.
Guy: Haven’t I seen you in there before? There’s a kids club.
Me: no, I just see you all when I pass by.
Guy: you need a membership to workout.
Me: look, I’m a 100lbs and live in a third floor walk up. (Flexed my arms with the grocery bags for emphasis.) I really don’t need to work out.
Guy: (tried to interupt me) you look good, you look good.
Me: what I need is that hot tub!
Guy: (laughed but still didn’t get it.) I’ll put this pass in your bag for you.
Me: okay. But you really gotta work on your opening line! (Walked away, this was all friendly by the way.)

For real. These dudes had no idea how they just totally insulted me. Most women would be insulted with that opener. You need to work out = you are fat. I am clearly not fat and am pretty secure in my body, but way to make a person feel self conscious. I’m sure they can come up with something better than sexist body shaming. Ugh.

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in body talk, Chicago and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Clueless

  1. Lindsay says:

    Yes, they DEFINITELY need to work on their opening line. That’s horrible and could really ruin someone’s day or hurt someone if their body image is already suffering.

  2. Sarah says:

    Well played not coming back to them with something snarky about whatever it is *they* may need….

  3. Sarah says:

    … beyond a better opening line, of course, which was the kind way to respond! 😉

  4. Hahaha! I didn’t even think of that.

  5. Sarah says:

    Oh no, I meant that you did respond in a kind way by saying they needed a better line! I’m sadly all too good at popping off rudely to people who say something I find offensive. I probably would’ve told them they looked like they needed to get haircut and get a real job, something totally uncalled for – then felt incredibly lame later for not just laughing it off, as you did.

  6. See now I would have loved to have thought of something snappy and gotten my point across. – Going to try to extricate myself from sleeping baby and go back to sleep. Hope you get to go back to sleep soon too.

  7. Sarah says:

    Extricating from sleeping babies… Managing to do that was why I was awake! Lol! Thanks, and yes I did. Hope you were successful too!

Leave a Reply

