Relief

I have been in super stress mode since I got my schedule for these next two months. I do no have enough hours to pay my rent and bills and buy groceries. We have been just barely making it since we moved here as it is.

I applied for food assistance when we moved but was denied. I went a couple weeks ago, showed them my most recent stubs and my work schedule, and was told it would take a month or so to be approved or denied. I didn’t know how I was going to get us through this. I have been cooking and eating as frugally as possible, giving Wallace as much as he can eat, but sacrificing some of what I should be eating.

Well, when we got home from work today, I nearly cried when I opened an envelope and there was my card for food stamps. I had no idea if there would be money on it or not. I got Wallace situated with a banana and called the number to activate it. There was money and enough to feed us for at least a month! It is such a huge relief to have this and I was crying when I sent a text to a friend to tell her the news.

I can breathe again. I also have an interview tomorrow after work. It would be a good job and I have a good feeling about the family, but it is not in my optimal range of pay.

This is not what I expected or envisioned my life to be when I started working towards being a single mom by choice. When I got pregnant, I had a decent job for a good family that appreciated me. I loved the kids and pay was enough to live on. This is not what I planned. Thankfully, there are these systems here to help when things aren’t going as planned. I am working towards better and would really love to become an IBCLC.

No parent should worry how they are going to feed the families. No child should be eating smaller portions or going to bed hungry. If you have the means, donate food this holiday season. Donate toys too (I won’t be buying Wallace or anyone else any presents, but he has family who are and I have a few things I got in the summer and set aside).

Fingers crossed for this interview tomorrow.

About goodfamiliesdo

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Chicago, food, Parenting, Single Mother by Choice - SMC and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Relief

  1. AndiePants says:

    I’m so glad you got the support you needed! Good thoughts for an awesome interview tomorrow!

  2. Thank you! I am not sure I will have enough for bills but I am hoping it will all work out. We are going to visit family this weekend (my dad bought the train tickets) and I feel like we can actually enjoy it a little now.

  3. I’m glad you were able to get approved. We’re receiving assistance as well. I don’t know what we would do without it. ❤ I hope things get better for you, and my fingers are crossed for this interview.

  4. pepibebe says:

    So,so glad that you received the assistance you obviously desperately needed – and earlier than you were told. Fingers firmly crossed for your interview tomorrow. Enjoy your weekend with your family.

  5. Lindsay says:

    I’m glad you got the assistance you need. No one should ever have to go hungry or worry about where their next meal is coming from!

  6. Im SO glad you got help! I definitely understand the worry and glad you got some relief. Good luck at your interview!

Leave a Reply

