Night Two

We didn’t manage to start the falling asleep process any earlier last night. He tried to escape from my bed, jumped off steam in his bed, watched the airplane lights, and wanted me to hold him and sway. He eventually fell asleep on his belly next to me in bed at 9:15. I went to sleep with him this time.

He woke up at 1:45. I thought he was going to go back to sleep easily with some holding and rocking. Instead, he only feigned sleep if I was standing and walking with him. The second I stop he was screaming. I really wanted to nurse him but I knolew that would backfire.

That was a brutal 2 1/2 hours. Not as much crying as the first night but it was so draining. He did ask for tatas a few times as well as hummus and bananas. He finally fell asleep next to me close to 4am after many exhausted tantrums. We woke up about 8 and he nursed for a bit and dozed.

I have neck pain and a headache and am overall tired. It did help that I fell asleep at 9 with him. I was less frustrated in the middle of the night. I really hope he can figure out this going to sleep thing and streamline it. It would be lovely if he would lie down next to me and relax. He just fights it.

Meanwhile, the Christmas packages from grandparents arrived today. To Christmas miracle for me that allows me to pay rent. My mom used to ask me what I wanted for Christmas plus send a check for a few hundred dollars. She didn’t ask me what I wanted so I didn’t have much hope for a check either. Too bad she is still childishly pissed off about us moving. Either way, Wallace will get presents to open, so that is good.

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Breast Feeding, family, Parenting, Sleep and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Night Two

  1. Sarah says:

    For maybe the second (third?) time in 3.5 years, my daughter feel asleep tonight without my nipple in her mouth. It was sheer exhaustion for her, not anything i could take credit for… we just had a crazy day and late night. We’ve night weaned in the sense of not nursing any after she’s asleep and wakes up, but I’m quite impressed that you’re also cutting out nursing to sleep. I haven’t quite had the guts to do that yet! It’s often the only time during the day she asks to nurse, so it won’t be much longer until she’s fully weaned. I can’t even imagine. But the extra sleep we get is amazing. It took her a few nights to start eating more during the day instead of relying on “may may” all night to make up the calories, but she did eventually eat more! If she has an off day with eating, I try to offer her a healthy / filling snack before our bedtime routine… but I don’t want that to be a standard part of our routine either, sooo I’m trying not to do that too regularly.

    Good luck with it!

  2. Last night i nursed him to sleep because i had a migraine and couldn’t do the hour+ of trying to get him to sleep.

  3. Sarah says:

    Gotta do what you gotta do sometimes!

Leave a Reply

