Night Four

I don’t feel the least bit rested from last night even though we weren’t up for two hours in the middle of the night. I really don’t want that to become a habit, so I am glad the last two nights didn’t go like the first two.

The difference is that I nursed him to sleep about 8pm, instead of trying to not nurse him to sleep and him falling asleep exhausted after 9pm. I think he does sleep more soundly if he doesn’t nurse to sleep. Whereas last night was lots of rolling around and restless light sleep.

He doesn’t like that he doesn’t get tatas at night anymore but he seems to understand it. By 6:30, my right boob was so full and tingly that I had to let him nurse. We cuddled and half dozed before we got up. A big change to the 7:30-8:30 wake ups he was getting me used to!

I feel like this is the right time for him to night wean. He understands so much more each day – complex ideas and directions – and eats better if he didn’t nurse all night. I think it was confusing him when I was trying it the Dr Jay Gordon way. I see that now. Sleep was sleep and there wasn’t a difference in what time it was to him so I was giving him mixed signals by letting him nurse back to sleep sometimes but not every time.

My boobs need to get used to it and hopefully my body will chill on the hot flashes. I should see what the Womanly Art book says about weaning. There need to be more resources for this!

I didn’t go to bed right with him last night because I was job hunting. I have an interview set for Monday morning for a little squish. It would start February 2nd if I get offered it. It is very close, so that is good. I have another one set for Tuesday that would be a three week job. Full time care for a 5 month old and two days each week the 3 year old brother would be there too. That would start January 12th and hopefully end before the 2nd.

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Breast Feeding, Chicago, Parenting, Sleep and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Night Four

  1. Sarah says:

    That’s one thing I haven’t had to deal with – my boobs barely make any milk at this stage, (there are a lot factors adding into this, some natural to my body, some due to diet) so no issues with engorgement. I know cabbage leaves are supposed to help with that, and be soothing due to the cold, but idk if it would lower your overall supply, or if maybe just applying one when you wake up tingly or when going to bed could help?

    I’m taken aback at the lack of any real toddler weaning info, or maybe I’ve just been looking in the wrong places. But we seem to be progressing. Her separation anxiety hasn’t calmed down any, but we’re working thru it.

  2. I am hoping my body will decide to regulat on its own. We have had such a hard time breastfeeding that I really don’t want to risk my supply. I would like to make it to 2 years at least for daytime and let that go as long as he needs since I won’t be able to try for a second baby anytime soon.

  3. Sarah says:

    Totally understandable, and I’m sure your body will adjust. Two years is a great goal! That was mine too… 3.5 is much longer than I anticipated, but I in no way regret it. She seemed to need it, and I’m sure I did too, since she’s my last. So much bittersweetness!

  4. With breast cancer on both sides of my family, I could use any little protection it gives me!

  5. I believe it decreases your chances a great deal, each year you do it. You’re doing an amazing job.

  6. Sarah says:

    That’s a good thing to hear – it runs heavily on my mother’s side of my family, and in my husband’s family too. That much more reason to encourage my daughters to nurse if they choose to become mothers.

Leave a Reply

