Question 4

How do your nurture your soul?

I could go into a diatribe about meditation and yoga and biking. I could list some awesome mind and heart expanding books I have read recently.

Or I could be honest.

I don’t have the time or energy for much introspective self work. I don’t get to do the things I used to. This one woman band is too busy juggling the melody and the rhythm and the needs of a small person to get to stop and reflect on her soul.

I try to find some little moments like conversations with strangers, a few minutes of reading before bed, a good story on the radio. But, back to the honesty, chocolate is my bandaid most days. It gets me through.

I have been having another lonely spell since the imminent doom stress of nearly getting an eviction notice has lifted. I miss having a close connection to another adult. I miss being in a relationship. I also don’t have any friends I hang out with regularly. My attempts have all pittered out and I’m tired of trying. At least work is affording me a little social interaction with the parents, who I really like.

Oh well, my soul can wait.

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in background, Parenting, Single Mother by Choice - SMC and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Question 4

  1. Did things not work out with A? I’m sorry you’re feeling so lonely. ❤

  2. Nope. I think there was a post about that at some point.

  3. I’m so sorry to hear that. I must have missed that post.

  4. Sarah says:

    It’s hard when you know taking care of yourself will make you a better parent (person, friend, etc), but fitting it in around a tiny human with needs makes it difficult! I’ve always struggled with that…

Leave a Reply

