Facebook Free

I did it! I cut my ties with Facebook and I am optimistic it will last. I have been Facebook free for a week now and it is lovely. More reading, more writing, and less distraction.

I opened my account in the fall of 2005 and this is (I think) the third time I have deactivated it. The last time I reopened it was to share that I was pregnant. This time I deleted all of my likes, groups, and friends to minimize that feeling of missing out on something. I am cheating a little by having a secret account so I can participate in three small groups, two of which I started.

I know some people can handle facebook and other sites reasonably without being addicted. Not me. Once it became something everyone has and then had access to it in my pocket, it became a problem for me. I tried a dozen times to limit my use and take weekend or week long breaks and then would dive right back in.

At times it was dangerous because I would be checking it while walking, day and night, or while waiting for the bus or train. There was a string of phone robberies at a train stop south of the one I was using, not that my phone would be much of a target! When I tried to limit my use of my phone while on the bus or train, I noticed all the people bent over and tapping away, some with headpbones, completely oblivious to their surroundings.

I’m not perfect but I’m trying to do better.

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in background, Chicago and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Facebook Free

  1. Solo Mum says:

    I’m guilty of this too! I also have a secret account with no friends other than my real account. I use it to admin my business page when I go through periods of deactivating my real account. It can be so refreshing and liberating to be free of Facebook!

  2. My secret one has no friends, just a couple likes I just checked out, and my three groups. It doeant have much activity, there is nothing to scroll through aimlessly while walking down the street.

  3. Sarah says:

    I cut my FB ties in May of 2010… Definitely one of the smartest things I’ve done as an adult. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with being on there, but like you I couldn’t disengage. It’s been so much healthier in my brain since then. I miss some family news, but that’s what phones are for – phone calls!

  4. I’m still on my phone too much but at least I’m not on facebook.

Leave a Reply

