MicroBlog Monday: Making Milk

If you have read my blog for more than two minutes, you know that Wallace and I went through hell to establish breastfeeding and stick to it. We had eight wonderful women donate breastmilk to him along the way and I couldn’t have done it without them.

Since we have night weaned, my breasts have been adjusting to not being needed at night. I try to get him to nurse well before falling asleep but sometimes he is just too ready for bed. I was sitting here, on my spot on the floor in my hallway/closet, last night with my boobs tingling because he barely nursed. I went and hunted down a bottle, miraculously not waking Wallace, and started hand expressing.

I had been feeling bad that I had to throw away expired donated milk (he stopped wanting to take bottles and really didn’t seem to need it) when it dawned on me that I could pump/express and freeze it for a friend! She is due with her second in a few months and had just as hard of a time as we did with breastfeeding her first. She had a harder time coming by donor milk than I did.

I have set a goal of 4-6oz a week for 14 weeks. That could get her 60-84oz ready as backup!

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Breast Feeding, Microblog Monday, Parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to MicroBlog Monday: Making Milk

  1. Yay for milk donors! I have been donating and am established now with one babe. I’ll tell you what, donating makes me feel just as good as feeding my boy. 🙂

  2. Lindsay says:

    That’s awesome! Paying it forward. 🙂 I donated hundreds of ounces to a couple local women. It felt really good!

  3. That is great! Just knowing I can ease a little of my friend’s stress feels good. She did manage to partially breastfeed her first partway into this pregnancy.

  4. Yay! That is awesome! It was such a relief when I had a feeezer full of donated milk, especially with the CPS crap.

Leave a Reply

