Writing Process Blog Tour: Good Families Do

I was tagged! Then I forgot about it. Oops…

I am supposed to answer some questions about writing and I am going to add in a bonus since I doubt I will tag anyone.

What am I working on right now?

Blogwise? Writing regularly. MicroBlog Mondays if I need a little push. Quitting Facebook has forced all my inner thoughts on my readers helped me to write more. I would like to turn my stories into a memoir but there are bigger fish to fry right now, like making sure I can pay my rent and figuring out how to get into IBCLC school.

How does my work differ from others in its genre?

I guess my genre would be mom-blog. There aren’t many of us single moms by choice and even fewer of us manage to blog. I am pretty tell-all and do not sugar coat my life or leave out the rough bits. I like to post pictures because I like sharing that part of our lives and love it when other bloggers do too.

Why do I write what I do?

I started reading other mom-blogs five years ago when I was house bound after wrist surgery, couldn’t work, and couldn’t go to school. I was living on Vicodin and K-cups and dreaming of having babies with my girlfriend. I started my blog a year later after the break up. I knew I wanted to be a single mom and started working towards that. I needed a safe place I could write freely. I also knew that SMC blogs were hard to find and I had some altruistic ideas that maybe my voice could help other people.

How does my writing process work?

I do all of my writing in the WordPress blog on my crappy Android phone because I don’t have wifi access. Sometimes the app eats my posts, like my 22 month update I started a month ago and can’t find. My posts either start in the moment or are triggered by something I read/heard or a fellow blogger. Lately, they have been keeping me from falling asleep in the middle of the night, begging to be written and whirling around inside my head. Sometimes I get to write a whole post in a sitting while nursing Wallace to sleep but usually it is in the moments between tedious parenting tasks my action packed life.

image

What my writing process looks like.

Bonus: Where did your blog title come from?

I assume most readers aren’t doped up on pain medication and don’t read all 353 posts in a day. I worry that people think my blog title may be a bit pretentious but it really isn’t! I want to assure you that it is not about classifying some families as good and some as bad. It is about farts.

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in background, Linked Up, Parenting, pictures, Single Mother by Choice - SMC and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writing Process Blog Tour: Good Families Do

  1. Lindsay says:

    LOL “my action packed life”. Mom life isn’t the most glamorous, is it?

  2. I’m still in my pajamas. I plead the fifth.

Leave a Reply

