My First Night With a Two Year Old

We are on the old schedule still. Up at the new 6:30, sleep by the new 1:00, sleep by the new 8:30. I might just leave it like that and slowly try to shift his bedtime earlier.

Bedtime was a bath, lullabye cd,coconut oil massage, diaper and pajamas, peanut butter toast and apple sauce snack. Then we talked about our day and he nursed nearly to sleep with track 9 on repeat and Froggy in his arms. When he was barely awake, I turned on the fan and made him unlatch so I could turn off the light. He snuggled into me and said “tatas sleeping.” I held him for a minute and said “I love you right up to the moon and back.” He squirmed and I put him in his bed.

I was trying to fall asleep but my brain was not going along with it. I realized my stomach was hurting because I didn’t eat dinner, just ice cream. I got up, grabbed the bag of tortilla chips and hid in the bathroom in the dark. (I am against eating in the bathroom but I don’t have a door between the kitchen and living room/sleeping area so it is the only place I can make noise while he sleeps.) I think I fell asleep by 9:30.

I remember coming to a little during the night but didn’t fully wake up until 5:30. That is 8 hours, people!!! I don’t remember Wallace fussing and I never put him in bed with me. When I woke up, I went to the bathroom then tried to go back to sleep. Wallace started moving around and I wad hungry. He got up by 6:15. That is almost 10 hours!

I sure hope this is our new normal. Please, please let this be our new normal.

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Milestone, Parenting, Sleep. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My First Night With a Two Year Old

  1. Lindsay says:

    That’s amazing!! All appendages crossed that this is your new normal!

  2. If i slept like that for a week I would be a normal human being and pleasant to be around! He is pleasant to.

Leave a Reply

