Spoiled

We are only two months in, but things are going great with L and I (and Wallace). We still only get to see each other on the weekends but we have gotten two long weekends together in a row.

Last weekend was Wheatland’s Traditional Arts Weekend so she took Friday off in addition to the Monday holiday. It was great getting so many days together! I volunteered at the festival in exchange for my ticket. The work was far from hard but I didn’t like having to leave Wallace for those few hours at a time two days in a row. It worked out well with it being nap time but it felt too soon for me to be foisting his care onto L. My dad and his girlfriend were also there and they did help out a little.

This weekend that just passed, L had taken two days off to go on a little road trip with a friend. Her friend had a car problem and had to cancel. That means we got her for another long weekend! We had discussed going camping somewhere but after Wheatland and the weather forecast, we stuck around my area. We had crepes, drove to a light house, geocached, went to the farmers market, cooked good food, let Wallace get into finger paints, and baked cookies. L also took me to the community college so I could get admissions sorted out. Her and Wallace hung out and wandered around and it was pretty quick.

When she left last night, it was knowing that the next two weekends we might only get one day together. She is supposed to dog sit for her parents and we live too far away to drive back and forth everyday. I’m hoping but not holding my breath that they cancel one of their weekends like they did the last time they planned this. Totally selfish but the weekends are the only time we have together!

I have been so spoiled having L around. I get to shower alone. Wallace has another person doting on him. I have her constant company and lots of affection. I like having her around and so does Wallace. It feels so cohesive already. Falling asleep without her last night was hard and I hope these three weeks go by quickly.

image

He is stuck like glue to L.

image

Climbing on everything!

image

Crepes, mmmm.

image

Wiped out.

image

Trying a new carry (RRRR without leg passes) with my Windy City.

I had started this yesterday and it is too long for MicroBlog Monday so I will have to write another!

*******************
Posted to Blogging For LGBTQ Families Day 2015 on Mombian. Go check out more blogs!

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Spoiled

  1. Lindsay says:

    Awwww, this is so sweet. I think when the right person comes along, they just fit like the missing puzzle piece. I’m so glad to hear it is going so well!

  2. That is exactly how it feels! She fits with us really well. I’m sure there will be hiccups and issues we have to work through but it will be totally worth it.

  3. Sarah says:

    Great to hear about you all having so much fun (& time!)(tho clearly not enough!) together! Sometimes it’s just that easy to be together, and it’s so unexpected it’s scary. Maybe the wknd only aggravation is a bit of a blessing in disguise, helping you guys to take things slowly?

  4. Thanks! I think so too but I don’t like that there won’t be some sort of transition to if she moves with us to Portland. Nothing feels scary but I do feel a little crazy at times. Oh well. Not letting that stop me’

  5. Dana Rudolph says:

    Thanks for sharing this piece of your life and for participating in Blogging for LGBTQ Families Day!

  6. Thanks for hosting it! I wasn’t sure what topics were allowed but since this was already about my family it seemed to work.

  7. Pingback: Blogging for LGBTQ Families Day 2015: Master List of Posts - Mombian

Leave a Reply

