Podaegi Tutorial

When I was unsure if I would like wrapping, I made myself a wrap from osnaburg fabric. It is a decently priced fabric and is a little like linen in how it is made. It is pretty grippy but I felt it was a good practice wrap and easy enough to work with. I used it for a few months before I bought a second hand Didymos Katja and haven’t used it since.

image

It has sat unused for over a year so I decided to turn it into a podaegi for a friend. If I had thought that I would make a tutorial of it, I would have taken more pictures! If anyone reading has any questions, please feel free to comment or email me at my blog title at gmail.

Podaegi are a traditional Korean carrier that is good for little babies to preschoolers, front, back, and probable hip carries. It is actually the first kind of carrier I was exposed to. When I went to Korea 12 years ago, I saw grandmothers hauling it past me up mountains with babies and toddlers on their backs. I was impressed! I was pretty fit and only 18, taking my time to get to the monuments and temples at the top. Here is a little info on podaegi and the traditional wide blanket form.

image

Final product. I hate having to read the whole thing to find out what it looks like.

image

My idea sketch.

I decided to go with a narrow two layer blanket and two layer straps from the osnaburg wrap anchored into a strip of bottomweight fabric. I did not have a wide enough wrap to make wrap straps. I chose straight out straps, like a traditional podaegi, instead of angled straps like a mei tai. I did not add any padding to the top of the blanket or to the straps. I used approximately 1/2in seam allowances and pressed all my seams open before folding them right sides out and pressing.

The Blanket
I started by cutting two pieces that were 21x30in and sewed them together at the top. This would have been even easier if I had cut a piece 21x60in and just folded it in half. Then, with right sides together again, I marked 5.5in on each side below the top seam and sewed down, across the bottom, and up the other side to the pin. I did that to keep the top open to slide the anchor and straps in. Clip the corners and turn it right side out through one of the holes. Iron it nice on the seams.

The Straps
To make the straps I used the width I had, which was not enough to make wrap straps. I had a little wider than 10in to work with for each and they were 80in long. Some people need longer but that is all I had to work with. I folded them in half and sewed along the edge. I pressed that seam out before turning it right side out. I decided to put the seam flat in the middle of the strap instead of on the edge. I pressed the edges, folded one end under to close off the end, and top stitched down both sides and the end.

Anchoring and Finishing
This step is crucial because the strap and anchor fabric do most of the work in this carrier. To do the anchor, I cut a strip of duck about 5in wide and as long as the blanket is wide, about 20in. I lay it over the blanket at the top and cut off any excess that hung over the sides. I placed the straps on the duck and measured 3in, pinned them, sewed the x box. Then I slid the straps/duck anchor into the opening at the top, hiding the x boxes and the duck. I made sure to get it in between the seam at the top so it would lie flat (easier with a 20x60in piece folded in half). I pinned it all in place, top stitched around the whole thing and went over the openings/straps three times.

image

Closeup of the top of blanket and end of strap.

Tada!

image

Baby Lucy in a front wrap cross carry.

image

Wallace in a ruck tied Tibetan.

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in babywearing, Linked Up, Parenting, pictures and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Podaegi Tutorial

  1. That’s really neat! well done!!!

  2. Thanks! I had help from looking at a few tutorials and feedback from the DIY babywearing group.

  3. AndiePants says:

    what are your favorite general baby wearing resources? I’m really getting into it but need some guidance about how to do all the holds and folds and etc etc etc! this is so neat!

  4. Diy babywearing facebook group is my resource for this. The BWI Chicagoland group is my help for other things. I would go to a meeting by you so you can get hands on help. I like Wrap You in Love for lots of woven wrap carries.

  5. Pingback: Onbuhimo Tutorial | Good Families Do…

Leave a Reply

