Finality

Since December, my step dad has been in and out of the hospital and near death many times. He had a misdiagnosed aortic dissection. A big surgery that put him in a coma for ten days and shut down his kidneys. He had multiple other procedures and multiple congestive heart failures. CT scans continually took a toll on his kidneys. The doctors he had been airlifted to for his first surgery said there was nothing else they could do. He transferred to another hospital and a doctor did one more procedure. It look like it would work but didn’t.

Two weeks ago, he was told to go home for hospice and that he had one to two weeks left. Another doctor called giving them false hope that he would get stronger (big difference compared to you are about to die…) and be able to have another procedure soon that would work. Well, the first doctor was right. I received an email this morning from my mom that he died at home in the early morning. I don’t know any details yet.

Last week, I borrowed my dad’s car and Wallace and I drove over there to visit with my mom and step dad. My mom really needed a break from constantly taking care of him and it was good to be able to go over and see them. He was not doing well and it was really sad to see.

I have a pretty rough relationship with my mom and no real connection with my step dad but I don’t like knowing they have been suffering and that she is now alone. They had been together since 1994 and married since 2003. I have told her we can come over and help/distract when she is ready. That is all I can do for her.

About goodfamiliesdo

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in background, family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Finality

  1. Lindsay says:

    I’m so sorry for your family’s loss. It’s good of you to go be with her when she’s ready.

  2. That is all I can think to do for her. Hopefully his kids are there or on their way. I’ve not been included in any of that.

  3. Sarah says:

    That’s a hard situation to deal with. I’m sorry for the loss, and hope your mom is able to get some relief through you and Wallace.

  4. Thank you. I’m hoping we can head over there Sunday for at least a few days to keep her company.

  5. I’m so sorry for your loss. ❤ That's a really hard thing to see.

Leave a Reply

