Falling Apart

I got an email from Birthingway that accreditation for the lactation program fell through and won’t be done in time for me to start school. That means no financial aid. That means probably no student loans, federal or private, though I’m waiting on a response. I can’t pay $20,000 out of pocket for the one year certificate program. My plans are falling apart.

I can’t start working on another plan beyond the rough outline of it until I hear back from the school. The last email took them two weeks to reply to. My online class starts September 8th and I need to know if I should add another class to my schedule or not. If I have to go an alternate route then I will need to take about 8 classes and would rather do two at a time.

Besides that, Wallace is a wreck today and constantly freaking out. I’m on round two of trying to get him to nap and have lost all patience with him. I needed to get sewing done this morning and it didn’t happen.

It would be nice if for once my plans could go accordingly.

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in background, Parenting, Single Mother by Choice - SMC. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Falling Apart

  1. Solo Mum says:

    How annoying, I’m so sorry that your plans have fallen through and you’re having such a rough time. I hope things pick up for you again soon and you find a new path

  2. Oh so frustrating!

  3. Lindsay says:

    Add the other class – just in case.

    I’m so sorry you’re going through this.

  4. I don’t want to sign up for another class without knowing what is going on. What if I sign up but then get overwhelmed because I have to get a full time job and can’t make it work? I have sent the lactation program person another email and also sent one to the financial aid person. My option for becoming an IBCLC is to do these two, week long courses, 14 science credits, and cross my fingers the one IBCLC I know in the area will supervise my hours. This would all be a lot easier with a job at WIC but no one seemed willing to tell me when it would be posted and where.

  5. The financial aid person replied within minutes. Looks like private loans are an option. But, add that to moving across the country and is it worth it? I really like this program and really hate Michigan but it might not be the wisest choice.

  6. Lindsay says:

    Well…it would be building the life you want in the city you want to be in, right?

  7. I know of a great alternative funding source but you’d have to get to oregon and become a resident first…

  8. Email me? I’m so not sure what to do. Still no sign of a WIC posting and I check weekly plus called and never got a return call.

  9. Yup, I’ll send you the info I know in a bit.

  10. Oh, that is super rough. I know I certainly don’t handle it well when plans change so dramatically. Hope that things fall into place somehow; it sounds like you’re dedicated to becoming an IBCLC and it’s good to at least have hat clarity as you search for the right way to get there.

  11. Yeh I don’t handle this kind of thing well either. Maybe when I wasn’t a mom it was a bit easier but not anymore. I have been having a hard time sleeping too.

  12. Yeah, I can definitely see how being a mom would compound things. And not sleeping is awful, just awful.

    Anyhow, I’m thinking of you and wishing you the best with all of this.

  13. Thank you. Thinking of you guys too!

Leave a Reply

