Learning

I gotta say, learning to be alone again feels a helluva lot harder than having been alone for so long was. There’s this absent-presence not to mention a two year old who can’t comprehend the change. There is no cap to my weeks, no mostly guaranteed companionship, and no one to assume is interested in my little comments and texts about life and my kid.

I’m a little bit lonely but it took me a bit to feel it because I’m used to most of my days as just Wallace and, like it’s always been. I’ve been really busy with toddler behavior, household things, babysitting, and cramming school into every spare minute I can. I didn’t get one assignment in this past week until 4 minutes before it was due. I’m not sure how I will get all my reading done for anthropology and I started an essay for English last night that is due Wednesday at 7pm.

I’ve barely had a minute to feel it, but it’s there.

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in dating, LGBTQ, Parenting, Single Mother by Choice - SMC. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Learning

  1. I’ve been here… Am here! A full-time relationship is too much and yet the loneliness can be equally as hard. Loneliness is the human condition? Not sure, but it’s generally mine. At least so far.

  2. The lonely used to come in some intense bursts. This wasn’t even full time and I think that is one of the aspects that made it not manageable. There was a disconnect between our realities.

  3. I can see how distance presents its own challenges.

  4. Sarah says:

    ❤ It's never easy.

Leave a Reply

