MicroBlog Monday: Self Care

Finding time to take care of my basic needs has been really tough as a single mom. Doing any sort of self work or care is downright scarce. Sometimes I’m just lucky I get to cut my nails when they start bothering me or get a shower every third day. So, I have been working hard at this self care thing. I am trying to get my health in order with the elimination diet, herbs, probiotics, and vitamins because I want to be physically able to parent my child. The mental and emotional parts of me need some help too. Here’s what I’m doing to take care of myself:

The diet with gut and liver support.
Bike rides and at home yoga.
Stretches and relaxation during nap time.
Good dark chocolate.
Morning pages journal.
Logging out of Facebook (I am still sucked in, even with just an account to be in a few groups).
A little social time with a friend.
NPR and Podcasts with meals or cleaning.
This blog. Seriously keeps me sane.

What do you do to take care of yourself? I have a massage I need to cash in on but that requires time and asking my friend or dad to babysit. Hopefully soon.

About goodfamiliesdo

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Microblog Monday, Parenting, Single Mother by Choice - SMC. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to MicroBlog Monday: Self Care

  1. I just finally booked a massage for Wednesday! I’m so beyond excited for it. Try to get one booked for yourself!

  2. I watched an episode of survivor while making dinner last night… Some mindless entertainment that isn’t DisneyJr was nice for a change!

  3. Ooh nice!!! I really need to but just don’t have the time. Gas money for the drive (the place isn’t close) and money for a tip too.

  4. Ha! Sounds perfect then. I never got into that show. I miss Tv a little but am so out of the habit of it. Would love to go to a movie someday. It’s been 3 years.

  5. err yeah. All my massage therapists have said that tips aren’t appropriate for RMTs. They are healthcare professionals. Maybe that is different from place to place though. Luckily I can bike to my place.

  6. I felt undecided on the tip factor. Maybe they have less overhead costs than here or charge more. Knowing all the costs involved (school, continuing education, insurance, membership, rent, electricity, supplies) I feel like the price of a basic massage won’t cover that.

  7. Also, maybe our massages cost more…

  8. deathstar44 says:

    Pedicures and nights out with my friend! That always perks me up.

  9. Mel says:

    A lot of reading. And video games. When I make time for video games, I feel like I’m setting aside work and making time for myself.

  10. Lindsay says:

    I book massages for myself. I knit (it helps me feel calm), I meditate and do yoga. And I have sex. Just kiddin’ about that last one. LOL

  11. Lindsay says:

    Oh, and I live in the same city as Rachel and I *always* tip my RMTs. They’ve never objected…

  12. I am missing my reading and sewing nap times. I am only reading for school right now and trying to crochet in the spare moments I have.

  13. Hahahaha! You are ridiculous.
    Crochet does help me feel calmer too. But it also makes me feel productive and I miss having non-productive moments for myself.

Leave a Reply

