MicroBlog Monday: Wonder

It is so easy as parents to be hard on ourselves and beat ourselves up. We have images in our heads of what parenting will look like and what we want to do and not do. These standards are impossible to fully live up to.

We often lose focus on the substance of life because we are rushing around, dealing with the day-to-day minutiae of raising kids and maintaining households and working jobs. It can get so hectic that we forget to enjoy the little moments and remember why we are doing this in the first place.

In light of that, I want to invite you to share something that you want to share with, teach, or instill in your child. These things can make you grin when you think of them, make you remember distinct memories, or make you feel the wonder that is the world. Here’s a few of mine:

• I want Wallace to be able to look up at the night sky and see the pictures in the stars. I want him to know of the stories and histories that make them special as well as feel the vastness of the universe.

• I want Wallace to love books. I want him to love the feel and smell and of course the words. I want him to know that books are friends and teachers and the delving into one can change your life.

• I want Wallace to know the importance of listening, of empathy, and of learning the stories of others. There is so much to learn from a conversation with a stranger at a bus stop or a close friend.

I revel in these things and hope to teach Wallace to appreciate them too. Tell me what you want to impart on your child.

About goodfamiliesdo

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in background, Microblog Monday, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to MicroBlog Monday: Wonder

  1. Lindsay says:

    I share the very same wants that you listed above.

    I want Evelyn to be kind, compassionate and have empathy for people.
    I want her to follow her passions, and not let fear of the unknown dictate what she does or doesn’t do.
    I want Evelyn to give love freely and welcome love from others in all its forms.
    I want Evelyn to understand and feel that we’re all connected, and treat others accordingly.
    I want Evelyn to donate her time and resources to a cause or people who need her help, and give without expecting in return.
    I want her to have an appreciation for this planet we live on, and treat it with respect.
    I want her to feel a connection to the spirit world/her spirituality in whatever form it takes.

  2. Mel says:

    I want my kids to be able to create a well-formulated argument so they can discussion ideas passionately without hurting feelings.

  3. kayrosey says:

    I hope to encourage a love for learning in Ali that goes beyond school/college. I want her to feel free to study as wide and as deep as she wants, the world needs more polymaths.
    I want her to take time everyday to actively feel herself in the moment, whether it’s consciously enjoying the feel of the breeze on her skin or the sun on her face, or however that looks for her.

Leave a Reply

