What We Eat 1

I’m hoping to make this a weekly post to share different recipes and foods we eat. Feeding a toddler can be near impossible and they are known for getting in food ruts and refusing old favorites while shunning anything new. Add to that being gluten free and now me being corn, dairy, soy, pork, and beef free and it has been a real challenge to keep us fed. Here goes…

Right now I am trying this recipe for curry pineapple turkey. I don’t have curry powder or zucchini so I grated fresh ginger and added some turmeric. I used those already nicely cut salad carrots because this was a running late dinner. I made half jasmine and half brown rice and have some tamari sauce on hand in case it needs it. I thought it was good but Wallace finished his yogurt from earlier and ate a few pieces of pineapple. He attempted to eat a bite of turkey but ended up holding it in his mouth and having to spit it out instead.

Not having cheese in my life has been a real challenge. I miss it. I also don’t feel full without my daily yogurt. I made this creamy cauliflower sauce today. I liked it but Wallace wouldn’t try it. I was disappointed in the quinoa and corn noodles but the new sausage I found was good.

This oven roasted cabbage was phenomenal but I didn’t even try to get Wallace to eat any. I ate half the cabbage in one sitting.

On the other hand, he did enjoy this creamy roasted vegetable soup as long as I called it cheesy soup. He nearly ate some leftovers but was much more interested in the “veggie” straws I gave him to dip in it.

I made two pots of applesauce using this recipe and they turned out amazing. I have at least another two pots to make and am freezing bags of it. I also have bags of shredded zucchini in the freezer and one bag of vegetable sauce. Wallace was not so much a fan of that but I’m going to try again. I can’t find the recipe that I used but it was shredded zucchini, shredded carrot, and a big can of tomatoes put through the food processor and then into the crockpot with a packet of Italian seasoning.

I attempted this paleo zucchini bread as muffins last week. They turned out okay but too salty and oily. I am not really into the texture of almond flour so I might try it using a gluten free flour mix. Wallace also attempted to pick out the barely noticeable zucchini, doh!

I would have some pictures of all this food but my phone is a piece of crap and thinks it’s storage is full. It has also started saying the SIM card is out and powering itself down. It seems to be nearing its end.

Have you made anything new or have a favorite staple we should try?

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in food, Linked Up, What We Eat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What We Eat 1

  1. kayrosey says:

    http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/black-bean-chili
    I made this last night and it’s definitely a repeat recipe, and would fit your diet I think. I’ll probably double the spices because it didn’t have a strong enough chili taste for me, but it was good as is too.

Leave a Reply

