Thanks, Universe

I just read this from a post I wrote 3 years ago:

What I really want, what I think would be amazing, is a job that would allow me to bring him with me while having a positive impact on the community.  Something that would serve a greater purpose in my life and the lives of those around me.  Trouble is, I don’t know what that is and I only have a vague sense of the shapes it could take.  Even if I knew what it was, I am not sure how I would manifest it, whether it was working for someone else or starting something of my own.

So I am putting this out there, just like I did when I knew I wanted to start a family.  I want, I need, to make this happen.  I need my life to be filled with purpose, and not just that of being a parent.  I am in a community that needs it and is filled with burgeoning opportunities for helping each other and itself grow.  So, universe, fit me into this puzzle.  Show me what I need to be doing now and after my baby is born.  Point me in that direction and show me the impact I can make.  I am willing to put in all the work that is needed as long as I know that I am working with a purpose.

Being an IBCLC would definitely let me be a part of a community, helping people, and possibly allow me to bring my child/ren with me. I guess the universe showed me the need for knowledgeable breastfeeding support by putting me through the gauntlet! Though I still wish I could go to Portland, I am trying to figure out how to make this work without it. The piece of the puzzle that isn’t lining up is the supervised clinical experience. I can get all the science and health classes here, I can get the lactation education hours online, but I cannot figure out how to make it work for me to get the experience needed to take the exam and be a great IBCLC.

The reason I was digging around in my blog from three years ago, was that I have been doing some reflection. I have noticed my patterns and habits of behavior particularly in regards to relationships. Ending my relationship with L has somehow allowed me to process and reflect on the relationship before that with A. I really haven’t dealt with it because I was pregnant, then overwhelmed with a newborn and breastfeeding and doctors… I opened up communication with her today, mostly to apologize but maybe we can both have more clarity and understanding on what happened and why.

Gotta wrap this up because I have a wiggly toddler on my lap, a full bladder, and request to sing “stunkarink,” aka skinnamarink.

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in background, breastfeeding, LGBTQ, Parenting, Single Mother by Choice - SMC. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

