Considerations

Everyday, I try to figure out how to get from here to IBCLC. Tossing ideas around for two months and looking at every possibility has not provided me with a new path. I am still very drawn to Birthingway and Portland and was sad while looking at their website last night that I can’t go there.

Or can I? I decided to look at their midwifery program and am in the process of reading everything about it. If I pursued this instead, I would be working with women and babies, providing holistic care, and supporting breastfeeding. It would be a fulfilling career with many options and ongoing education. I like the idea of getting to know families on a longer term basis and am passionate about women having birth options.

The comprehensive program includes a lot of modalities and aspects of care that a CNM (the kind of midwife that works at a hospital) typically doesn’t have access to. I think I hadn’t really considered this option because I had only thought of the nurse midwife path and I know that wouldn’t work for me. I hadn’t pictured myself doing this kind of work but I think it could be a good fit for me.

I am looking at what prerequisites there are for the program and when the applications are due. It looks like I need to make a decision quickly in order to start with their next cohort. I have bounced the idea off of three friends and they all had positive responses.

Thoughts? Feedback? I value the input of my little blogging community.

About goodfamiliesdo

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in background, breastfeeding and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Considerations

  1. I think it sounds awesome and could be a really cool option! The only thing I will mention (though it feels crappy to mention) is I know a midwife who is a single mom and it is a constant struggle to make sure she always has “just-in-case” childcare when you don’t know when you will be called to something and/or how long a call will last.

  2. Yes that is a thought I have had too. That’s also a factor with being an IBCLC, though it seems that would be easier to make appointments during business hours and keep the length of them to an hour. The program is three years long, hopefully within that time I would have a community and resources.

  3. My wife did her doula training at birthingway, and we’re hooked in to the direct entry midwifery community in Oregon if you want to talk to practicing midwives. I think it’s an amazing thing to do.

  4. Lindsay says:

    I was going to say the same thing. My midwife was (well, is) a single mom but her daughter is a teenager now. She had to live with her parents when her daughter was young so that she could be sure she had childcare available 24/7.

  5. Lindsay says:

    I think it is a great idea! What about the financial piece? I remember (and my memory is horrible so pls correct me if I’m wrong), so would you take out a loan for this program or is there funding available?

  6. Lindsay says:

    I got distracted when I was writing this (at work!). I remember the financial piece was a roadblock for you before so is this program funded differently?

  7. This one has financial aid and federal loans available. The loss of that for their lactation program was the wrench in my plans.

  8. Lindsay says:

    Perfect. I say go for it!

  9. Just got to the prerequisites section. There are three that the LC program doesn’t have. They all have to be done by December 31, but maybe I can get an exception. A doula workshop, I’d have to figure out how to pay for it and look into my local options, but it can be done in one weekend usually. An anatomy and Physiology class, I have taken one at both massage school and holistic nutrition school. There is a chance they will take those credits. A medical terminology course, I am not sure how to get this piece done on time. http://birthingway.edu/programs/midwifery-program/prerequisites-to-the-midwifery-program/

  10. If I can figure out how to get the prerequisites done, talking to people will be my next step!

  11. I just found another part that says they extended the deadline for this year and all prerequisites have to be in by April 1st instead. I’m working on an email to them now.

  12. Rachel says:

    Hi there. I’ve been lurking on your site for a bit. I’m in the very beginning stages of considering becoming a SMC. I live in Portland and just saw in the paper the other day that Portland State is starting to offer a lactation program. Might be worth checking out.

  13. They are!? I saw that PCC used to and just closed it. I will go to Portland state website right now. I am coming into an issue with prerequisites for the midwifery program. I could make it happen but probably not by April for the start of the next cohort.

  14. kayrosey says:

    The only thing I think you should be careful about with not going the certified nurse midwife route, is that not many states allow a non cnm to legally practice, so you want to check the saturation level in the states that do allow it.

  15. That is a good point. I was looking through some of the organizations’ websites today but hadn’t gotten to that yet. It is horrible that midwifery is under attack when there are good schools and credentialling processes in place to keep it safe and well regulated.

    I talk to someone from the program today and it looks like I could make it happen but that IBCLC is what I need to do now. I am going to “attend” the Portland state webinar in a few hours and see how that goes. I could see doing that program and eventually taking the doula workshop with Birthingway. Maybe midwifery will be much further down the line.

  16. kayrosey says:

    It seems like the home birth trend is on the upswing, so maybe the regulations will eventually change with it. I’ve looked a bit at going for midwife certification after I’m done with my rn, but it’s a lot more school so we will see.

  17. It is definitely increasing now. Birth centers too.

  18. kayrosey says:

    I had Ali at a birth center, I loved it there.

  19. Awesome! I believe there were no birth centers in Michigan at the time I had wallace. There had been one in the Lansing area but it closed. Friends of mine just opened one in Flint.

  20. kayrosey says:

    I didn’t realize how different it was from a regular labor and delivery unit in a hospital until I talked to other people. Pretty much anything you would put in a birth plan, except delayed cord clamping which my doctor really isn’t on board with when I asked his opinion, was standard practice where I went.

  21. My CNM did alright with sticking to things but I have no idea how long we let the cord go. I know I cut it but it all is blurry and rushed feeling in my memory. I was not required to wash Wallace and put the bottle of J&J away when we got there. At the hospital birthing class, Missy and I were the only patients of the one CNM and the instructor kept making asides to us like we could eat and not get an IV set up, etc. If a birthing center would have been an option, I would have done it.

Leave a Reply

