Decluttering with KonMari

I first heard about KonMari (there’s a book and a lot of people have written lots of blogs about using the techniques) on the instagram of a popular babywearing educator. I was intrigued but not enough to go look it up. Now that I am working on preparing for this eventual living in a RV thing, it keeps showing up. At first, I was afraid about getting rid of so much stuff, but now I am excited.

image

Today, I went through all of my clothes. I started by pulling them out of the closet and the two boxes I had been dragging around of things I don’t wear.

image

I went through each item carefully, putting what I didn’t want in the laundry basket. I folded my socks, underpants, and bras as I went and made stacks by category. I ended up with two boxes and a garbage bag worth of clothes to get rid of.

image

Then, with the help of my trusty toddler, I managed to get it all organized and put away without either of us getting hurt. I can’t follow the method exactly because I do not have drawers and am not going to buy storage containers until I have a RV to put them into.

image

I still think I have more clothing than I need, but it feels much less cluttered. I can actually see the sweaters I like! I think I will be able to get a few t-shirts in the summer because I don’t really love what I have. After I took this picture, I added a few pairs of pants from a pile I needed to try on. I also need to try on a bunch of bras to see what fits now that I am no longer breastfeeding. I did a little bit of color organizing but wasn’t quite ready to let go of how I have hung my shirts for the last 10 years.

Tomorrow, I will pull the boxes of baby clothes out of the basement and really go through them…

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in background, pictures and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Decluttering with KonMari

  1. Lindsay says:

    Woohoo! Well done. I have time off over the holidays and this exact task is on my to do list for that time. You did so well.

  2. I highly recommend looking up KonMari! It helped me a lot and I had just recently gone through some clothes. You did a lot of purging before your move. It was impressive. After baby clothes, I need to go through the random boxes in my closet and then start going through the ones in the basement. I need to do craft supplies sometimes… ugh. Kitchen and books will be left for last.

  3. Oooh. We have a group that does a declutter challenge every once in a while. The challenge being to find 1 thing on the first day of the month, 2 on the second, etc. to get rid of, and take a picture to share with the group each day. It’s a closed Facebook group if you ever want to join (it doesn’t mesh with the KonMari approach so much as help after you’ve done that already, or act as another mechanism for decluttering).
    Just let me know if you ever want to join in 🙂

Leave a Reply

