Baby Clothes

It should be well known that I want to have more kids eventually. I have been hoarding baby clothes, toys, and gear in my dad’s basement. I decided to let go of a bunch of things for the mom to mom sale that we didn’t make it to last weekend, so it is all sitting in my trunk waiting to get to a consignment store. I have gone through baby clothes before and attempted to downsize my hoard but I figured I should do it again. I figured I would go grab the few boxes from the basement and get going on it. Those few boxes turned into this…

image

I guess I had more down there than I thought! There are still a couple boxes of cloth diapers and a couple of baby toys and books. The first step is to dump it all out.

image

That was really overwhelming to sit down to. I decided to just start tossing things to get rid of into a laundry basket and lay out the clothes I am keeping in nice piles by what it is. Size would be too time consuming. I started working facing the mountain of clothes and putting things to my right but found it was much easier to confront if I sat with my back to the pile. Then I had the clothes I was keeping and the laundry basket in front of me. I would reach behind, grab a pile, and start sorting.

It was really hard to ask myself what “sparks joy.” I see clothes as functional but I also have a lot of memories and feelings tied up with these clothes. Tiny newborn clothes equal joy! I’m sure I kept more than I need to but I managed to get rid of the two big boxes full. I didn’t remember to take a picture before packing it all up because it was almost midnight when I got done. Now to just get all of this stuff out of here!

I should probably take a break from decluttering and get my final exam and stuff done for my classes.

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in background, Parenting, pictures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baby Clothes

  1. kayrosey says:

    Ha! My house is never as clean as it is the week before finals when I’m desperately procrastinating on studying 😉
    I have a giant pile of baby/toddler clothes too, even after giving away stuff to 2 other little girls I know. I’ve kept the premie and newborn stuff because of those emotional attachments, even though I know chances are slim that I’ll use them again. Oh well, someday I’ll be able to let it go!

  2. Ugh, I should have worked on my English portfolio thing last night. I have to be out the door tomorrow at 6:45 and currently have a migraine. My house is far from clean but organizing is feeling good!

Leave a Reply

