MicroBlog Monday: Micro Craft

By micro craft, I don’t mean tiny. I just mean fast and simple! This was so simple that I did it while I cooked noodles and carrots for dinner.

I found this project about 5 years ago. Yesterday, I was looking through my bookmarks on my ancient PowerBook G4, Frankie, and came across this link. (Thanks for making me think of that, Mel. I was supposed to be studying!) I nearly made it a year ago and decided I needed to stop dawdling. There was a pair of my dad’s old jeans in the donate pile… the stars aligned.

Supplies:
A pair or two of jeans (no stretch)
Scissors
Ruler
Marker

Optional:
Compass
Paper
Pencil
Yellow paint
Paintbrush

I measured 6 inches for the with of the roads because that is what the link I had said and I felt trusting. I made some 14 inch long straight pieces. Then, I used two crossed over to trace and make two intersections out of the back thighs that were the biggest part of material. Next, I got fancy and made a cure with a compass on paper and drew out a pattern piece.

image

Note my scissors and compass in bottom right.

I had to hand the pieces over as soon as they were cut and he has played with them a few times already. They slide around a bit on the wood floors. I may add nonskid stuff underneath and just sew it together. I’m undecided. I will definitely be painting lines on them and be waiting for a second pair of jeans to use.

Happy Monday!

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Linked Up, Microblog Monday, Parenting, pictures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to MicroBlog Monday: Micro Craft

  1. Traci York says:

    Cute! Almost makes me wish our boy (who is now 18) still played with his toy cars. 😀

  2. Lol makes me think of the recreation photos. When wallace is 18 I can make him play with them again and recreate the picture!

  3. Traci York says:

    Oooo, good plan! 😀

  4. I need to get more pictures of him in his Thomas the train underpants!

  5. Mel says:

    Very cute! And a good recycling job. I made a road like that but on poster board. Not as clever.

  6. Sarah says:

    That is so cute! And so very simple.

Leave a Reply

