Diapers for Flint

Has everyone heard that Flint, Michigan has water that caused the lead pipes to leach? This is causing rashes, illness, and lead contamination. A lot of flint is below the poverty line and the city has been through a lot. I live outside the city limits in a small town that has completely unrelated water. We arent directly affected and that is a privelage I need to weild in order to help those who are.

So, imagine that you are a parent, just getting by as best you can, and you choose to cloth diaper. You may have even gotten free loaner diapers from Ava’s Cloth Share. Imagine you live in Flint and your diapers aren’t coming clean and your child is getting diaper rashes and sores. Imagine those diapers are contaminated with lead because you only have one filter from the health department and it’s on the kitchen sink.

And that is the reality setting in here. We don’t know how many babies are being cloth diapered in the city but they all need to stop right now. We also don’t know how long term these affects will last and we don’t know when the water crisis will be over. But what will they put on their child today?

That is where you come in. These families need to get disposable diapers and wipes now. They will also need replacements of the cloth diapers and wipes for when the water is safe. Fluff Love University and Lead Safe America are working together and have set up a donations page. The donations will be making their way to my friend’s house and we will be sorting and distrubuting them. If you can donate used diapers and wipes you aren’t using, please do. You can also send disposable diapers and wipes directly to us via Amazon.

What is needed
*Cloth diapers, all types and sizes welcome
*Cloth Wipes
*Disposable diapers, all sizes and brands welcome
*Disposable wipes, all kinds welcome
*Donations towards Lead Safe America

If you have any questions, please direct them toward Fluff Love University. If you would like to contribute to Lead Safe America in order to bring lead education to Flint, please go here.

About goodfamiliesdo

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in diapers, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Diapers for Flint

  1. Lindsay says:

    I feel sick to my stomach with every article I read about what has happened to the people of Flint. The people responsible should be behind bars.The current and long-term implications are enough to make your heart break a million times over.

    I’ll go make a diaper donation via Amazon.

  2. The deeper we get into it, the harder it is to stomach. I am right there with you. I just la di da bring my water bottle everywhere but now I have a way I can help people. It has been going on for almost two years. Who knows when the lead started leaching. This is going to be felt for generations. Thank you for helping! And sharing my link in any groups you are in that would contribute would be great.

  3. Tobie says:

    Hey !!!!! I’ve got 1 90% out of diapers and will send some that way asap. Glad to see you and lil W are doing well I miss ya !!!

  4. Sarah says:

    My used cloth is in storage, 3 states away! I’ll keep this in mind for when I get them. And see if I can’t send you some disposables. It’s heartbreaking, and angering, reading about what’s happened there. I can’t imagine the horror of being trapped in that situation.

  5. Sarah says:

    And thanks for sharing some ways to help!

  6. That would be great! I don’t think we will be distributing cloth just yet unless the family can show they will be washing them outside the city.

  7. Jaclyn says:

    We’re a cloth diapering family but I do have a few packs of disposables that I’ve taken 1 or 2 out and have been storing the rest and our babes have outgrown. Thanks for sharing. Will be donating to the cause.

  8. Those would be greatly appreciated! I almost made a note about open packs of diapers being welcome.

  9. This hurts my heart. How do I send via Amazon?

  10. You can use any online store you want (amazon, target, diapers, etc). Go to fluff university link and get Melissa’s address as that’s our central location.

  11. Pingback: Diapers for Flint | Good Families Do…

Leave a Reply

