Behavior Change Project

For Child Psych, I have to come up with an undesirable behavior to help Wallace change. Wallace is in a really good place right now (especially since I have been so much better on my Chinese herbs) and I honestly can’t think of something that needs to change. This isn’t a humble-brag, I swear. I need help seeing around my rose colored glasses.

The only thing I can think of is how he pesters my dad. That has to do with my dad being here only 10 minutes a day and how he interacts with him. Believe me, I’ve tried to change my dad’s behavior but it’s futile. 😉

Wallace listens to directions most of the time. He lets me shower alone. His sleep is pretty good, but no nap sucks for me. He pets the cats nice. He uses his words most of the time when he is frustrated or wants to do something. He is completely day potty trained. He doesn’t really hit or throw fits (for now). He eats pretty well and is back to accepting some vegetables. He uses reasoning and logic and helps me come up with plans.

I’m sure there is something but I can’t see it right now. Help me spot it? Maybe there is something more RIE that I could do? Or someone has a great suggestion on something I can try that helped there kid at this age?

Alternatively, I could work with Ava (my friend is a social worker and wouldn’t have an issue with it), but she saves most of her undesirable behaviors for her mom.

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Behavior Change Project

  1. kayrosey says:

    Maybe something with being more independent in an area? Or some sort of daily chore to teach him?

  2. I think I thought of it! He started biting his nails after weaning. He makes them bleed and it needs to stop but I can’t figure out how.

  3. The last couple weeks I have been working on getting him to do his socks, underpants, and pants by himself and to wear his orthotics everyday. He has gotten better with that. He is still in helpful/independent toddler stage and will put things in garbage or recycling, put dishes in the sink or dishwasher, put his dirty clothes in the basket, and pretty much anything I ask him to do in the moment.

  4. kayrosey says:

    Ali still enjoys being helpful too, I’m trying to take advantage of it while I can!

  5. Me too! I present it as teamwork and he likes that. We work together to have a good day and a clean house. I help him with things and he helps me with things and we don’t keep track. I involve him in making plans so he sees how we do things. Like we ran out of time last night to play a game and so we made a plan togethet that we would leave it in my room and we would play it in the morning while we drank our smoothies.

  6. Sarah says:

    If only we could pull out some “child” psychology and get our dads to grow up! That would be some project! 😉

  7. Hahaha, right! I don’t yet know how I’m going to get Wallace to stop biting his nails. Right now I’m trying to catch it, keep a tally, and not say anything to him.

Leave a Reply

