MicroBlog Monday: AIP

Since I clearly don’t have enough on my plate, I’m taking on some major diet changes. I feel like this is the only way to find some relief from the chronic pain and fatigue that is controlling my body and my life. The doctor isn’t helping and I have a cross country move to do in a month.

The name of the game is the autoimmune protocol. Basically, it is Paleo (no grains, legumes, dairy, processed foods) minus any inflammatory foods (nightshades, eggs, nuts, seeds). The point is to heal the gut and decrease systemic inflammation. Here’s a helpful chart I found.

image

I will be having Wallace go dairy and grain free with me (so pretty much Paleo) and hoping that will help his cradle cap that could actually be psoriasis. This will be easier to manage not in my dad’s house but it could be challenging on the road. Making this a slow transition will allow for me to use up the things we have on hand and slowly weed out things from our diet.

Yesterday, we ate gf/df muffins, bone broth, cucumbers, a scramble (sweet potato, potato, kale, onion, garlic, and two turkey burger patties with carrot and mushrom in them), fruit, parsnip chips, leftover noodles and chicken, and kefir (df yogurt for me). I have a ton of green things in my fridge to eat.

image

About goodfamiliesdo

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in background, body talk, food, Microblog Monday, Parenting, pictures, What We Eat and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to MicroBlog Monday: AIP

  1. Lindsay says:

    Looking at that list and if I followed this diet I pretty much wouldn’t be able to eat anything I currently love eating! This looks very challenging, and I am hopeful for you that all the effort and elimination of this stuff from your diet helps you live pain-free in the near future!

  2. Yes it will be some big changes! All the vegetables I can eat and good portions of meet. I will have to figure out starches because I’m not a big squash fan so that leaves me sweet potato. I miss cheese dearly but if I eat dairy, I can’t walk when I wake up.

  3. In the past I’ve cut out nightshades, dairy, almost all sugar, all grains, and probably other things that I can’t remember… Now I’m just dairy-free, gluten-free, and pescatarian (though I still limit nightshades). It’s hard figuring out what makes a difference and what doesn’t.

    Hope this diet works out for you! I’ve found it less overwhelming to ease into these things (like, one food group at a time).

  4. Thanks! I am hoping I can add things back in after a few months and find the right combination of foods for my body. I have a feeling grains and sugar are not going to be added back in. I am easing into it and working on coming up with staples that work for us. Just eating more vegetables and fewer grains is making me feel more awake.

  5. Mel says:

    That is a really hard diet. Especially as a vegetarian — I don’t know what I would eat because all of my protein sources are on that list. So sending a lot of good thoughts and cheering on.

  6. There are people in the AIP group I just joined who were raw vegans and switched to eating ethical meat so they can heal their bodies.

  7. Sarah says:

    Getting real with one’s diet is so complicated, but in my experience, so worth it! I’m still dairy free, wheat free (pretty much only the uncommon grains are my friends, tho some rice here and there has been OK) and I cut out about 95%ish of the sugar in my life. It certainly feels better, but this diet sounds like something I should consider.

  8. That is where I hope to be able to land when I am feeling better. No dairy, gluten, processed sugar, and that would be long term manageablez

Leave a Reply

