Naps

I just have to jump in and start writing again. This time around, with stress and changes and loneliness, I haven’t wanted to write much. I know I really should and that I will be sad I didn’t keep record of Wallace’s life and my thoughts.

*****

Somehow, naps at home have been reinstated after almost a year of only car naps (stopped wanting to nap at home when he weaned). I don’t know if it’s a growth spurt or a sleep begets sleep thing but he really needs it. It started with him falling asleep in the car more and then staying asleep when I transferred him to bed. When we moved in with my mom, it became harder to transfer him to bed because she’s on the third floor. Then he started staying asleep and wanting to be held for the rest of his nap.

One day a couple weeks ago, he was so tired and whining “I don’t know what to do!” I asked him if he wanted to take a nap and he said yes. I got him to sleep in my bed and made it a regular part of the day for about a week. Appointments and errands sometimes mess us up and car naps are still a thing. I’m sitting in the car as I type.

I try to get the naps earlier, 1-3ish, because if they go too late he does have a hard time falling asleep at night. He will get almost to sleep and then wake up from the start of a dream. Once he’s out, he is out for the night and sleeps until 7:30 or so. If he doesn’t nap, he doesn’t eat well and is understandably cranky.

Part of me is anxious something isn’t right but I’m rolling with it as best I can and will be getting some more trace minerals soon to assist in his growth.

About goodfamiliesdo

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Parenting, pictures, Sleep. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

