Say Yes

Today’s taking care of myself moment was about saying yes to friends. I often feel alone and isolated due to being a single parent who doesn’t work outside of the house and has no queer community or best friend. I wallow in it sometimes, usually after trying and failing to make new friends or get old ones to hang out. And sometimes when a friend invites us to something, I balk at the energy and planning (and money) involved. But today I said yes.

My friend got free tickets for the Renaissance Festival so I said Yes to going with her. I faced some ghosts and went. Wallace fell asleep on the way there, my friend was late meeting us, and it was ridiculously muddy and crowded, but I said yes. It was Wallace’s first time and I’m sure I haven’t been in over ten years. I wanted to go slow and let Wallace and the other kids explore, but we had a time limit. I should have said yes to going earlier in the season but oh well. At least we went now!

About goodfamiliesdo

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Parenting, pictures, Single Mother by Choice - SMC and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

