Tone

Wallace is so sweet and sensitive with lots of intense emotions. I am pretty blunt and matter of fact and have been struggling with keeping a confident but calm tone of voice with him this past year. I am conscious of it and working on it continually. I don’t want him to learn to not show his emotions but a full blown 20 minutes of screaming and crying because I knocked over a glass of water is a bit much..

Here’s a great article by Teacher Tom called The Technology of How to Treat Humans. He linked me a few more to read today after I commented on his post of Obedience Is Not the Goal. I’ve also been working on Stop Being So Stern by Janet Lansbury, and by working on it I mean it’s been open on my phone for a few weeks.

Today I tried to keep track of when I was using directives and then trying to rephrase it. We had a smooth lunchtime and nap prep but he didn’t actually fall asleep. As usual, I was worn out by the end of the night and used more directives than I wanted to at bedtime. Wallace was overtired so it was destined to be rough. I just heard a falling asleep sigh, so my quiet minute before schoolwork is almost over.

Yesterday’s nap when he woke up from a bad dream but fell right back to sleep in my arms.

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Parenting, pictures and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

