MicroBlog Monday: Deliberation

I started shaving my head when I was 14 and have not grown it long in the 17 years since then. I decided to grow it out to a short but stylable length and like it but only when it’s cut right and styled. 

The second time I had it cut and favorite version.

The motivation was to have something more professional than bald for my future internship and career as an IBCLC. Though I still very much want to pursue that, I no longer know when it will be. In the meantime, the cons list of having this haircut is growing: $13 every few weeks, a barbershop that doesn’t make appointments is hard with a 3 year old, the back not being right, sticking up funny if I don’t style it or flat from wearing a winter hat. The cons list of bald is merely that it is cold in the winter. If I had a style that I liked as much as this but looked okay not done, that would be okay too, but I can’t imagine myself with longer hair than I currently have.

About goodfamiliesdo

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in background, body talk, Microblog Monday, pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to MicroBlog Monday: Deliberation

  1. Mali says:

    Hair is so difficult! Mine is short, though not as short as yours. I have similar cons. But not really any options, as I couldn’t do bald – as tempting as it is sometimes!

  2. Mali says:

    PS. I meant to say – it looks good!

  3. Thanks! Wish it looked that nice at the moment. The second barber just won’t trim the back right.

  4. Love the hair! I could NEVER pull that off, but I love it on you! And good luck with the IBCLC. That’s awesome.

  5. Thank you! I could never pull off long hair though sometimes I wish I could. My hair is very thick and very dense.

  6. Mel says:

    It’s so odd/annoying that you can get an appointment at a hairdresser but not at a barber. Ours is the same way.

  7. I wasn’t sure if that’s how it usually is or just this place. Before these guys, I have paid to have my hair cut 4 times in 13 years. I had to go once when I was pregnant because I was too big to comfortably shave it myselfz

  8. Ashley says:

    My hair was down to my waist when I cut if off in July to the shortest haircut I’ve ever had, above my ears. I agree with you, that short length had some positives (less hair products) but the styling and maintenance was not so unlike long hair. I don’t think I’d ever be brave enough to shave my head, but I can see the appeal in not having to deal with all the hassle! My son’s barber let’s us make appointments when we go in and he is busy. And I always schedule for the little guy so he can do it when the shop it quiet – that works so much better for a squirmy toddler! (The little guy does very well getting his haircut, but I know if there was a lot of commotion it would be a different story)

Leave a Reply

