MicroBlog Monday: I’m Not Starving

It has been nearly a year since I started working toward the Autoimmine Protocol (I have Celiac disease and undiagnosed chronic pain and fatigue). It was a hard transition despite having been gluten free for 10 years and dairy free for 8 months. I had to get used to not eating grains, eggs, nightshades, legumes, seeds, and nuts (I still eat some nuts), and get used to eating more vegetables and healthy fats. My body craved starches for a long time and I lost a couple pounds before I realized I needed to prioritize compliant starches twice a day – mostly sweet potatoes, plantains, and squash.

I am not healed but I am in less pain and have more energy. I feel in control because I know that what I choose to eat can positively impact my health, unlike when I felt hopeless because the doctors wouldn’t help me. I am not perfectly compliant because I allow myself some gluten, grain, and dairy free chocolate and peanut butter and do not eat the full 8 cups of vegetables everyday or the bone broth and organ meat I should be focusing on.

I used to constantly get asked what I could eat and still get a lot of negative feedback about undertaking this health diet. In response, I take a lot of pictures of my food as proof that I am not starving! I just made it to 106lbs, which is amazing for my 4ft 11.5in self. So, here’s a sample of what I eat.

Chicken and vegetable soup with homemade bone broth and root vegetable biscuits (made with canned pumpkin).

Crockpot teryaki chicken, with broccoli, and the rare treat of basmat rice.

Uncured bacon and braises collard greens. Turns out I love collard greens.

AIP compliant version of Samoa Girl Scout cookies. They were worth all the time it took to make them!

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in background, food, Linked Up, Microblog Monday, pictures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MicroBlog Monday: I’m Not Starving

  1. Mel says:

    Clever to make your own samoas. It is sometimes so hard to eat what we know our bodies need vs. what our brains tell us we want. So good for you for sticking with it. It’s hard work!

  2. I still want ALL the chocolate and ate 3/4lb of gummy bears yesterday… far from perfect diet but it’s a process!

Leave a Reply

