AIP Sloppy Joes

Back in the day, my first blog was all about gluten free food and life. At that time, the only gf bread I could get was dense and brick like and if I tried to eat out the phrase “gluten free” was met with a blank stare. Over the last 10 years, I slowly learned to cook from recipes, from an idea in my head, and from what I had on hand. I learned to love experimenting instead of fearing it. It amazes me what gluten free options there are now and how most people know what I’m talking about. But, I’ve been on the Autoimmune Protocol for nearly a year, necessitating me to cook outside my comfort zone and experiment with no break to eat out.

Last week, I got the craving for sloppy joes. Instead of lamenting the loss of soft gluten free buns, I decided to not think about it and instead focus on problem solving. There’s almost nothing in mainstream sloppy joe recipes that are AIP compliant outside the meat and onion. Add to that my dislike of beets, which is commonly used in “nomato” sauces. But I wasn’t discouraged!

I found this nightshade free sloppy joe recipe and made modifications on the fly.

I didn’t have onion so I skipped it. I steamed about a cup and a half of carrots and retained the water. I used 1Tbs of apple cider vinegar instead of 3Tbs of white vinegar as I didn’t want it to be overpowering. Instead of brown sugar, I used coconut palm sugar that I had on hand. I skipped the allspice as I don’t think it is AIP and used a dash of turmeric instead of mustard powder. I am out of honey so didn’t bother and used the retained water and a little homemade soy sauce for the water and soy sauce. I put all the sauce ingredients in a blender while I browned the meat. I was a bit skeptical as it simmered but assumed it would at least be edible.

It turned out really good! I think I will add a tad more acv the next time I make it. I could also see making a double batch of the sauce and freezing half for the next time. I ate the leftovers with AIP root vegetable biscuits and think it tasted better as leftovers.

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in food, Linked Up, What We Eat and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

