Things AIP Has Improved For Me

  • Migraines
  • Acne
  • Fatigue and endurance
  • Pain in feet and legs every morning
  • Pain in previously injured joints
  • Gas and bloating
  • Chronic constipation
  • Diarrhea
  • Chronic low BP including orthostatic hypotension
  • Neck pain
  • Congestion
  • Itchy eyes at bedtime
  • Anxiety
  • Heart palpitations
  • Brain fog
  • Anger
  • Ability to maintain or gain weight
  • Constant hunger and thirst
  • Irritated and overactive bladder
  • My immune system

    And most importantly:

    • My outlook on life

    There is actually something I can do to improve my health and daily well being. It’s not hopeless, I’m not crazy, and I don’t need to go on a bunch of medicines to deal with pain and side effects. As soon as I heard about and started working towards the Autoimmune Protocol, I felt an amazing sense of control. I had control over my health by the food choices I made. Over time, I have been able to pinpoint certain symptoms to certain foods such as dairy causes me acne and constipation while corn and oats cause me neck pain and itchy eyes. I have also learned the healing power of certain foods first hand, such as collagen for my joints and GI.

    As a culture, we don’t like thinking that what we eat is causing our health problems. We just want to eat what we like and whine about our bodies. I resisted cutting out grains and sugar and eggs. I resisted going paleo a few years ago when introduced to it by a friend. It was hard emotionally to adjust and I already had 9 years of practice being that weird gluten free girl. I struggled a lot at first and had to make new habits in thinking, shopping, cooking, and eating. My taste buds have adjusted (though I still have a sweet tooth) and I will gladly declare that I love braised collard greens.

    About JennP

    Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
    This entry was posted in background, body talk, What We Eat and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

    Leave a Reply

    