Sunday Morning*

Most Sundays, my mom takes Wallace with her to church. He gets to play in the Nursery with other kids, they get some time together, and I get some time alone. That’s the main reason.

Usually I use the time to source books, but lately I’ve been making a point to do yoga, shower, and take care of myself a little. I don’t particularly care for the fact he’s spending time at a churh (I’m Buddhist) but it happens to be the same one I grew up at, so at least it’s pretty innocuous.

My plans for tomorrow morning include: eating alone, doing yoga alone, showering alone, and hemming pants alone. Hemming is a chore but having some pants that fit right is totally self care. If I get all of that done before they come home, then I might take out the garbage alone.

I love having my sidekick with me, but it takes twice as long to get anything done. And for an extrovert, I’ve really realized that I need some alone time now that I’m a parent.

*song reference

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in background, Parenting, Single Mother by Choice - SMC. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

