Soup

I love soup, whatever the season! I love how easy it is to make and how filling. I can usually get Wallace to eat soup because it’s fun to eat and he likes the broth. I used to make an amazing potato leek soup but potatoes are now off the table. So, I’m working on learning some new soups and getting into the habit of making them. I’ve also been learning to make bone broths and that soup is a great breakfast. I’m having a bowl right now.

I like making up new soups from what I have on hand, using up leftovers, and how easy they are. I use a cutting board, knife, peeler, big pot with lid, a spoon or spatula, and a ladle. One pot meals are the best! I also modify my soups by how much energy I have. If I don’t want to chop onions, I will just throw in some onion powder or flakes. Wallace doesn’t care for onions yet so I call that a win.

Hamburger Soup

(This was Wallace’s idea that I gently modified because I wasn’t putting ketchup and blueberries in soup.)

  • Ground beef
  • Onion or onion flakes
  • Garlic or garlic powder
  • Carrots
  • Celery
  • Turmeric
  • Salt (if using a homemade broth)
  • Beef broth

I start with the ground beef in the pot while I chop the onions and garlic, then add them. I then prep any other vegetables and add them after the meat is done. Next, I add the broth and any dry spices, put a lid on it, and get a good simmer going. I check it here and there but usually use this time to sit down and play a game with Wallace.

I really liked this AIP white chicken chili  but my mom didn’t care for it much and Wallace would only eat the chicken and broth. I decided I needed a new basic chicken soup recipe so I just winged it.

Chicken Soup

  • Olive oil
  • Chicken breast or thighs
  • Onion or onion flakes
  • Garlic or garlic powder
  • Carrots
  • Radishes
  • Dash of ginger
  • Salt (if using homemade broth)
  • Chicken broth

I do the same process as for the hamburger soup, but then take the chicken out at the end to shred or chop. I have also used celery, turnip, zucchini, and sweet potato. It really is about using what you have, going for variety, and keeping it vegetable heavy.

These root vegetable biscuits are really easy to make and go well with soup. I’ve only made them with canned pumpkin so far and they turn out just fine.

Do you have a favorite soup you make?

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Linked Up, What We Eat and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

