Almost Birthday

I turn 32 on Wednesday. That feels big but I’m not sure why. Maybe because I remember when my parents were each this age. I was 11 when my mom turned 32 (technically, I turned a 11 two weeks later).

I haven’t decided what I’m going to do to mark my birthday. Last year, I didn’t do anything that I can recall. The year before, I had a cookout at a park/splash pad with two friends, their kids, and the woman I was dating. Four days later, my stepdad died (we weren’t ever close) and gay marriage became legal.

Yesterday, we went to a friend’s Summer Solstice party, which, if they have one, marks my birthday in my mind. It was really great to just be around other people, most of whom I did not know, talk and mingle, and watch Wallace play. It also made me realize how much my extrovert nature is repressed as a single mom who works from home and has almost no social life. When I got Wallace to bed, I really just wanted to have someone to talk to still. The floodgates of my extrovertism were opened and only a trickle of my needs were met. I don’t know what to make of that, so I’m just taking it at face value. I need more social time.

I had been considering getting some people together at the same park/splash pad and then felt stressed about it. I think I will anyway and just make it low key. I will invite a handful of people with kids and ask them to bring something to share. We’ll see what happens.

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in background, Parenting, Single Mother by Choice - SMC and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Almost Birthday

  1. Darlene Dee says:

    Happy early birthday to you!

  2. bumbismom says:

    Happy almost birthday. Hope the get together works out nicely.

  3. JennP says:

    Thank you! I so far have one yes, one no, two maybe, and one unanswered.

  4. Lindsay says:

    Happy early birthday! I hope the get-together works out and you can get some of your social needs met.

Leave a Reply

