July Outdoor Challenge

Simply put, let’s make a point to get outside with our kids everyday! Screen Free Parenting is doing a challenge and I’m in. Anyone else want to join me? There are a list of ideas but it’s by no means a guideline. I will just start a blog list of what we did outside, updating it as I go. Speaking of, we need to get outside this evening as we haven’t yet today.

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Linked Up, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to July Outdoor Challenge

  1. We get out practically every day already. I think it comes from my post natal anxiety. I used to walk up and down the street because being in made me feel claustrophobic. Now that I’m better it’s just habit. Plus we both crave nature. But I’ll join you!

    I read your other post about no screen days and I must admit at the time I was like “no way. Why are you judging me? Being a mum is hard enough!”. It obviously hit a nerve hahahaha. But since I read your last post about it I have been making a conscious effort to reduce our screen time and I am loving it! Anyone who knows me knows im a tv addict. Never thought I could live without it but now most days we listen to the radio, potter around the house, garden. I feel great and I’m sure Z is calmer.

    So I just wanted to thank you for promoting this x

  2. Ps: I am in awe of what an amazing mother you are x

  3. JennP says:

    Awesome! We get outside a lot too but not always everyday. Postpartum was March in Michigan and we had breastfeeding issues so I had anxiety if we had to leave the house. He cried the first year if he wasn’t touching me so driving anywhere was so hard.

    I am really glad that you were able to move past feeling judged, because I wouldn’t and that wasn’t my intent. I received a lot of judgement when I had said years ago that I was going to greatly limit his screen time. I was told I would need to use tv especially as a single mom. If something works for one family and they feel good with their decision, then great, and that’s a two way street. Screens for children take away from the important things they need to do, so less is better in the long run.

  4. JennP says:

    Right back at you!!! But you are missing all my less than perfect moments too šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

