Real World

I got the job. I will be a breastfeeding peer counselor with WIC/the health department. I think that makes me a government employee. I just had my first ever work physical, drug test, and TB test (gotta go back for a second test, no idea why). I of course passed my background check. And my paperwork says I’m “highly qualified.”

I’m in the process of signing Wallace up for preschool and fretting over which program, how food will be handled, how much school will change him (the good and bad), and how to cover days he won’t have school but I will have work. I’m worrying about what to wear, what to pack for food, and how I will get along with coworkers and bosses. I’m on the verge of entering the real world as a single parent working outside of the house without my kid.

I’m hoping whichever program I decide on will be good for Wallace. I’m hoping this job will get me to financial stability (working on some Dave Ramsey in preparation now) and towards my goal of being an IBCLC. I’m contemplating the eventuality of finishing up the classes and courses needed to take the IBLCE and the possibility of no longer living with my mom. I’m planning out RV projects and playing with the idea of being able to travel and do in person and video lactation consults.

I am fumbling in the dark with this entire process. It was county HR that called me with the interview, but I interviewed with the HD and WIC bosses. I was offered the job by the HR person, but filled out my background check with a different one. I was told the TB test would be next, but the physical hadn’t been mentioned until after more paperwork was ready, which I hadn’t been told of the first time I was at the county building. I supposedly can start August 10th, but I haven’t heard anything from the actual people who will be doing the schedule. I kept forgetting to ask what the dress code is so I asked someone I’m connected to online who had this job before. I need checklist and calendar to get through this! (I may be a little type A…)

I keep wanting to blog and update, but this is all I can manage for now. Just utilizing my space for record keeping and word vomit.

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in breastfeeding, Parenting, Single Mother by Choice - SMC. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Real World

  1. Congrats on the new job!! ☺

  2. JennP says:

    Thanks! I should be in bed but I needed to write.

  3. Amazing news! So many changes. In the words of someone very dear to me, may you find the most benevolent outcome in each new part of your life ❤

  4. M. Titus says:

    Congrats! Welcome to the world of government jobs. Lots of hoops but you’ll manage just fine with some patience ☺

  5. JennP says:

    Oh man, more hoops? The two TB tests is ridiculous as it is.

  6. Congratulations! I am so excited for you!

  7. JennP says:

    Thanks! One more TB test and drop my direct deposit info off and I’m done with what I know of.

  8. sofhearts says:

    Congrats on the job! That’s so great. Hope it’s everything you’ve been wanting, and that you find a program for Wallace that you’re happy with.

Leave a Reply

