That Mom

Wallace is just three days into preschool and I’m coming to terms with the fact that I’m “that mom.” I’m also trying to be really nice to the teachers, not be a puddle of emotions, do my work well at a job I’m still new at, and keep on top of things like food, laundry, and basic hygiene.

Wallace is gluten (I have Celiac), dairy (he gets cradle cap from it), and egg free (he gets diarrhea from it). He eats minimal processed foods and grains at home. I’m really damn picky about what he (we) eat but not nearly as picky as I’d like to be. I was able to get the doctor’s note for the food accommodations but they require he has a milk substitute and he eats grains. He has never regularly had milk, or a substitute, that wasn’t from my breasts or that of another woman. I do not believe the dairy propaganda spewed by the FDA, USDA, and RDA on the dairy industry’s dime. He doesn’t need a dairy substitute and needs to eat more vegetables and drink water, but I’m burrying these things and teaching him to eat what he is served at preschool (as long as it is gluten, dairy, and egg free).

Preschool has nap time and I let them know he doesn’t nap and hasn’t napped regularly for over a year. Monday, he was on a cot with nothing to do for two hours while I watched him roll around bored out of his mind (yay, school cameras!). He doesn’t know how to make sure new people know his needs and his voice is heard. I had been told that he would have half an hour of trying to rest and sleep and then can have quiet toys to do or go in another room, so I was pretty mad. I vented to coworkers and my mom and calmly explained the next morning that he needs to be allowed something quiet to do. He wasn’t where I could see him on Tuesday at nap, but he did have something to play quietly with, and today they had movie and pajama day as it’s the last day of the summer session.

Which brings me to screen time… I’m not a fan, especially at school and this young. He occasionally watches Thomas, Mr Rogers, a kid’s movie, or Cosmic Kids at home, with an adult sitting with him. He gets scared easily and needs help processing what he sees. They were planning to watch Moana, which I have seen and knew would be too scary for him, but changed to Trolls AND two episodes of Magic School bus. That’s more TV than he has ever had at one time! I’m biting my tounge as this was supposed to be a once in a blue moon thing and he was sitting with a teacher the entire time. If movies/tv becomes a regular thing, then I will probably unclench my teeth and speak my mind as nicely as possible.

I learned yesterday that they do teeth brushing with them a couple times a day. This was news to me and I don’t know how many times. We brush twice at home already and I’m wondering if there can be too much brushing? Thankfully, Wallace refused the toothpaste. What a good kid! I told him we can bring in some of our homemade remineralizing tooth powder if they say it’s okay, which they did. I will include ingredients and instructions on a card so that whoever is doing it with them will know what it is and what to do.

Yep, I’m that mom…

Excited for his first day of preschool!

The bit of nap on the first day that he tried dutifully to rest.

Getting a treat and talking after the second day of school.

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Milestone, Parenting, pictures, Single Mother by Choice - SMC and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to That Mom

  1. Darlene Dee says:

    Good for you! Good for Wallace. Be that mom. ❤️

  2. Darlene Dee says:

    But like, Moana tho. If you’re ever in the area, come watch with us. Best kids movie ever. We sing and dance in the living room so it’s not scary at all.

  3. JennP says:

    We saw most of it at my step sister’s house. I thought it was great! But definitely scary for him. He is scared of everything in movies, like he won’t let us finish Curious George because the doorman was chasing George.

Leave a Reply

