New/s

I have a new job, WIC Breastfeeding Peer Counselor. I enjoy the work, though it feels like an uphill battle. I call clients, see them in office, and do a lot of charting. Our floors are filthy and my feet can’t touch when I’m sitting.

Wallace has a new school. Well, his first (and maybe last) school. It’s a play based Reggio Amelia program at a local college. There are male and female teachers and I so far like them all. I can spy on Wallace with classroom cameras, they go on lots of walking field trips, and I mostly can handle the food they provide (I can’t send his own).

I have a new diet. I transitioned from AIP to mostly grain-free vegan. I am juggling to make sure I get enough fat and protein, but I otherwise feel great. I make lots of roasted vegetables, lots of fruit and vegetable smoothies, and gave myself some pretty nice burns from frying tofu.

I have a new pursuit. The content of it isn’t new, though. I will be starting yoga teacher training* tomorrow! This is a bit of a jump feet first situation, as I’ve only been to this studio once, which was also my first yoga class since before I got pregnant, but I have definitely contemplated this many times.

When I went to the studio to discuss it with the owner, I met a new friend. The teacher had already paired us in her mind and I’m looking forward to getting to know a new mom friend who seems to be on the same wavelength as me (a big contrast to the people and environment in which I work). She is married, has a 6 month old son, has been vegan for 2 years, is all about the natural parenting, does yoga (her husband will be doing the training with me), and her leg hair rivals mine.

There is also a new baby in my life! One of my best local friends had a baby 24 hours ago. I am so damn proud of her and happy for her and her husband. I cannot wait to get some sweet baby snuggles. I was invited to go today but wanted to let her have enough rest in the hospital before heading home to her older two children, two dogs, and a flock of chickens.
*I realized that this will not only give me a money earning skill that I am passionate about, but also the self care and space to make it through another year living with my mom. I can’t afford rent on my own place plus the training.

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in background, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New/s

  1. I hope the training goes well and I really hope you enjoy it! ❤

  2. JennP says:

    It’s gonna be so great! I used to do Bikram Yoga, but knew I couldn’t do that training program (and I don’t want to support him – love the yoga, hate the man).

  3. Well done on going vegan and starting yoga training! Two things im very passionate about. Awesome x

  4. JennP says:

    I’m super excited about both! I need to come up with more vegan dinners/lunches and things Wallace will eat. He eats way too many grains at school and I hate having to hand over his nutrition to someone else.

Leave a Reply

