MicroBlog Monday: Bounce Back

In April, Nina had a UTI and I took her to the vet. The infection was so bad that the machine that reads the samples kept giving them an error. We got her on an antibiotic and had blood tests sent for thyroid and kidney function. The results were abysmal and the vet wanted her on a medication for her thyroid. I was warned that it would make the kidney disease symptoms appear worse, but what it did was nearly kill her. I had to syringe feed her watered down canned food and give her subdermal fluid injections. I truly thought I was going to lose her. I got her off the medicine, researched my options, started making her a balanced raw food, and attempted the medication again. Within three days, I thought she was going to die.

Fast forward five months. Nina has gained weight, she rarely throws up, she is less obsessed with water, and she has even jumped up onto the couch and into the tub a few times (she has never liked jumping but these heights were manageable for her). She eats about 10oz of wet food a day and I refill her water probably three times. She is still less social than before and sleeps hidden out of the way more times than not, but she is happy and relatively healthy. I go to the discount pet store every other week and pull up a handy pdf of cat foods to search for the one with the lowest phosphorus available. Though the raw food was really great for her and not overly expensive to make, I used chicken thigh on my third batch and she kept throwing it up. She has had a few times where she wouldn’t eat the canned food I bought her, but I spend $3-7 on a case, so it doesn’t hurt too bad.

My little PSA: if your pet is sick, please research food options that could help dramatically. If you give your cat dry food, please research why they need wet or raw food so that you can prevent CKD. Check out Cat Info for a wealth of information and a great place to start learning. Just like doctors, vets are not given much nutrition education and what they do get is sponsored by food companies. I was given a sample kit of Hill’s prescription food for kidney disease. Though it is low in phosphorus, it’s also low in protein, which no science backs up for cats, and it full of processed low quality ingredients. Question everything, research on your own, and know that food can heal.

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in background. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

