MicroBlog Monday: Insight Timer

When I was taking online classes, I was super stressed, my mind always going, and I had a really hard time falling and staying asleep. I’d also sometimes be up until midnight because my only quiet time to work on school was after 9pm. I learned about valerian root tea and added it to my bedtime routine, or at least after I was done writing anything for a class. I loved its calming effect and it didn’t make me loopy (there are contraindications so check before taking). I didn’t wake up in the middle of the night unable to stop thinking about school and life and money.

When my semester was over, I stopped drinking it and a friend told me about a guided meditation app she had tried. I found Insight Timer and love it. I have been studying Buddhism and meditation for half my life but had not ventured into guided meditation. Now, every night before bed, I put my screen on night mode, open the app, and pick a meditation. I get comfortable in bed with the phone speaker to my ear (I share a room with Wallace and can’t use headphones due to the daith piercing I have for migraines) and drift off to sleep. I sleep more soundly and usually only wake up once in the early morning to feed Nina and go to the bathroom.

I have yet to use the app during the daytime, but do plan on finding something I can listen to with Wallace on a regular basis. Time for some “Breathing Into Sleep.” Goodnight!

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in background, Late Night Post, Microblog Monday, Sleep and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to MicroBlog Monday: Insight Timer

  1. This app is so lovely. I listen to 33 Bowls Tibetan Singing Bowls: Rain every night at bedtime. Love it!!!

  2. JennP says:

    Ooh, I will look that one up!

  3. Sounds beautiful! When I started with green tea for the health benefits, I didn’t realize it had a lot of caffeine. I was up for 2 days. I love meditation. What a great way to quiet the mind. I usually do it in the afternoon. It somehow makes me more centered for the rest of the day.

Leave a Reply

