MicroBlog Monday: Train Party

Wallace is pretty train obsessed and I’m sure living within sight of a busy freight track is part of it. It started when I got him a used Ikea track and train set at the same time that I was babysitting for a family with a train obsessed 3 year old. Though Wallace doesn’t remember any of that, I have been encouraging it and so has the online shopping Gramma.

I think we have finally convinced him of a train themed 4th birthday party! He was insisting on a pink party as last year was orange and I was hoping for something with more substance. The deciding factor was showing him train cakes and how we can make a number 4 with train tracks on it. Something like this:

http://www.blueistyleblog.com/2015/06/TwoEasyTrainCakeOptions.html?m=1

He is liking the idea of a 4 appliqué shirt with Thomas fabric and a whole train conductor’s outfit. I already have birthday presents for him, which are so far a fort building set, a kid’s digital camera, and Fisher Price skates. It pays to shop at thrift stores for my work (see yesterday’s post).

In other news, I can’t believe he’s almost 4…

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Microblog Monday, Milestone, Parenting, pictures, Single Mother by Choice - SMC. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to MicroBlog Monday: Train Party

  1. That cake though! Wowza. Love the theme. And the presents. I’m wondering how long I can continue to buy secondhand presents before my daughter starts to notice… 😉

  2. Ooh I hope I get a few years on that still too!

  3. Mel says:

    That’s such a cute cake idea; especially because you can buy one sheet pan and then cut out the number each year.

  4. I am thankful for all the cake pictures out there! I don’t do pinterest but google still works. Thing is, he is gluten, dairy, and egg free and we don’t do food coloring. Lol I like a challenge.

Leave a Reply

