MicroBlog Monday: Connections

I’m one of those extroverts who can make friends with someone in a few minutes. Be it a pleasant interaction with a cashier or deeper conversation with a person at a bus stop, I crave connection and love hearing someone else’s story. I can find common ground with anyone and don’t see the point in being closed off or devisive.

Making friends as a mom seems nearly impossible some days. I would love to have more local parent friends and more kids Wallace enjoys playing with. Somehow my attempts to connect with parents at gymnastics and story time don’t go much beyond pleasant chit chat despite seein the common ground. Since I can’t make people hang out with us, I will keep focusing on the friends we have already, though hanging out with anyone doesn’t happen weekly.

Who wouldn’t want to be friends with us?

About goodfamiliesdo

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in background, Microblog Monday, Parenting, pictures, Single Mother by Choice - SMC. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to MicroBlog Monday: Connections

  1. Charlotte says:

    I have a hard time making mom friends, too. I always feel like I don’t fit in anywhere, like I’m the odd-mom out. My older kids finally got to an age where I didn’t need to make friends so they could have friends, and now I have small kids again who are going to need me to mom up and make friends for them. And I totally dread going through this again. It feels like getting picked last in middle school gym class all over again. What got me through back then was that I somehow found the “misfit moms” who also didn’t fit in anywhere and we made our own weird group. I hope I can find that again. But if not my littlest boys will have to wait until Kindergarten to make their own friends I guess.
    For what it’s worth, I would totally hang out with you guys and be your friend.

  2. For me, it feels like everyone already has their friends they do things with and I was late to the game. I have one friend who’s also the makes friends with everyone type of extrovert, and we met at the hospital birthing class and then got much closer when I babysat for her all last school year. My other friend here I nannied for for a year and we slowly got to know each other. When we lived in chicago, it was really hard because the local online mom’s group I didn’t fit in at all. I was lower income, single, gay, and just didn’t make any real friends.

  3. Making friends IS hard for everyone. When you’re in school, you make friends because you have classes together all day, every day…but in adulthood it’s a whole different ballgame. Even having something in common doesn’t always guarantee friends…I have struggled to make friends outside of work friends. That’s one of the many beautiful things about blogging, all the friends you make!

  4. So true. I work from home or in others’ homes so I haven’t made friends that way in years. My best friend of 4 years, I haven’t met (yet). I have made some great online friends through blogging!

  5. Mel says:

    It is true. It feels harder to “seal the deal” the older you get. People are willing to chit chat in the moment, and even socialize as an extension of the moment. But then scheduling the follow-up, hang out in the house moment feels elusive.

  6. You’d think with so many of us wanting more friendships that this wouldn’t be so hard! I’m thinking the biggest factors are the individualized type of society we have (as opposed to communal) and social media. People will connect on social media and call that good/friends. Then we sit at home feeling isolated.

Leave a Reply

