MicroBlog Monday: Series of Events

A few weeks ago, I received an email response to a nanny job I replied to two years ago. It would have been great except the job is in Chicago and I am not. I guess I had never changed my profile on Sitter City to reflect the move back to Michigan (there wasn’t much in this area before so I wrote it off), so once I explained that to the woman, I updated my profile and found two jobs to apply to.

Then I forgot about it.

Meanwhile, I was working on setting up a local parenting resource site and called the WIC peer counseling office to get the class info. I also mentioned that I’d been trying to get a chance to apply to be a peer counselor. She said I’d just missed it and they’d hired two new people!!! But, to keep an eye on the site incase one of them didn’t work out. I started checking the WIC tab on the county job board and one day decided to check the health department tab… and there it was! I filled out my application right away but didn’t have much hope.

Then I put it out of my mind.

Not long after that, I got a response to one of my local emails on Sitter City. She had a list of days she needed and we met right away to suss it out. We talked and the kids played for over 3 hours! So yeh, a good fit. I worked some shifts for her over two weeks and got a voicemail from the health department to schedule an interview! I was not expecting it because I figured they just forgot to take the ad down and it was already filled. The interview was Friday and it went well.

On Saturday, we went to an event at a local library and a mom started talking to Wallace and I about trains and Thomas. This morning, she sent me an email through Sitter City because she was browsing for some childcare and recognized us. What a fluke! If the first woman hadn’t emailed me two years after the fact, then I wouldn’t have gotten the first job and the other mom wouldn’t have found me on there.

About JennP

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in background, Microblog Monday, Parenting, Single Mother by Choice - SMC. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to MicroBlog Monday: Series of Events

  1. Lindsay says:

    Love the ‘nudge’ you got to update your profile on there and the series of connections it has helped you make since then!

  2. JennP says:

    I don’t think that nudge is done yet! M is making an impact on Wallace and me already. There’s going to be even more ripples from this I can tell.

  3. Mel says:

    It’s nice when a lot of good things all converge at once. Here’s to things continuing to fall into place.

  4. JennP says:

    Thank you! Though I’m not liking the holding pattern where I don’t know what’s next.

Leave a Reply

