MicroBlog Monday: Left or Right?

We try to plan for our kids, make good decisions, parent as best we can, but there is so much left up to chance and the combining of genes. I have wondered since he was born if Wallace would be left or right handed. My dad is a lefty but my mom and brother and I are all righies. My dad would love to have another lefty in the family.

Most kids develop a dominant hand between two and four years of age. Wallace started showing right hand dominance by the time he could sit independently at about 10 months. This was due to his low muscle tone and a need to balance himself while doing things. In the last few weeks he has started using his left hand more for eating, coloring, and other one handed activities. I’m excited that it might mean his muscle tone is improving!

image

Noodles taste just as good with your left hand.

When did your kids show a hand dominance? Did they switch back and forth a bit?

About Jenn P

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in background, Linked Up, Microblog Monday, Parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to MicroBlog Monday: Left or Right?

  1. Lindsay says:

    Evelyn is left-handed. It seemed that way when she was a baby, but now she exclusively uses her left hand for eating and colouring/drawing. My mom, sister and niece are all southpaws.

  2. Sounds like it runs in your family! I think my dad is the only one on his side and I might have a cousin or two on my mom’s. Did you know there is a correlation with birth order and gay sons and also left handedness? My dad is the third son so he had a higher chance of being gay but because he is a lefty it negates that. But, if he had been a first son and left handed his chances would have been higher. So weird!

  3. My fiancee (a mathematician by training) is left-handed and says that lefties are very over-represented among top-flight mathematicians. Go for it, Wallace!

  4. Sarah says:

    All three of mine have shown right hand dominance all along – I can’t remember exactly when, but say since the first time we handed them a crayon, sometime between 10-12 months? Or so?

    My husband is right handed, and was clearly relieved. He was nervous about teaching the kids how to do things (like play guitar or lay-ups in basketball) if one of them was left handed. I write primarily with my left hand, but I’m fairly ambidextrous and can (and do) do just about everything else with either hand, just depending on which hand is easier or more convenient to use at the time. I used to think I could use both hands bc my right handed family always taught me the way they knew how to do things, until I got old enough to meet other people whose “handedness” was different than their families, and that was clearly not the case. It’s fascinating to watch kids develop these things, and reading the science behind it (however much there is) is so interesting!

  5. katherinea12 says:

    Dominant handedness is a funny thing. Both my MIL and FIL are left handed but somehow my husband and his siblings are all right handed. I’m right handed but fairly ambidextrous. Interesting to watch how that develops!

  6. JustHeather says:

    My boy showed lefthanded tendencies in the beginning, along with being ambidextrous, but these days he uses his right hand more. I would love a lefty! Our girl is too young yet.

  7. Lindsay says:

    Wow, that kind of thing is so fascinating!

  8. Mel says:

    I’m trying to remember. It’s funny; I don’t think I noticed even though we have both righties and lefties in the family.

  9. I have heard that left handed ones are more creative ones πŸ™‚ He is a cute little boy πŸ™‚

  10. That would go with the left brain/right brain myth I think. But! The left hand is controlled by the right side of the brain.

  11. deathstar44 says:

    Mmmm, Boo seemed like a lefty for a long time then switched to his right. He’s five now.

Leave a comment