MicroBlog Monday: Take A Walk

A couple weeks ago, we started making walks around the neighborhood a regular thing. Once I had access to a car, we stopped walking as much and the hot summer didn’t help. It really started because someone on the other side of our block was having construction done and Wallace loves all things vehicular.

image

An ode to my former banner picture.

I’m not anti stroller but he needs to wear his orthotics and actually walk in them for them to make a difference. He has been able to increase it from once around the block to 5 blocks to the park, play, and walk the 5 blocks back. I’m impressed! I hope we can keep these walks going until our road is covered and too hard to walk on.

image

Holding his own hand.

image

Owning this tire ladder.

About Jenn P

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in Microblog Monday, Parenting, pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to MicroBlog Monday: Take A Walk

  1. kayrosey says:

    Walking is good for the littles, I feel like too many people shove their kid in a stroller or carrier instead of giving them the practice. On the other hand, I do get the convenience factor, sometimes it’s a pain in the butt to chase Ali around places.

  2. Lindsay says:

    Evelyn walks a lot just as a byproduct of where we live. It takes forever sometimes, but I know it’s good for her. Our evening walk is something we both treasure & look forward to. Sometimes it’s the simple things that mean the most, eh?

  3. Chasing isn’t an option for him! It is either walking and holding my hand or in the stroller. If it’s a longer walk or going someplace big, I bring the stroller for sure. I was an avid carrier user until I physically couldn’t do it anymore. Immediate calm if he was stressed out and so much easier on public transit in Chicago. It was also better for his core than a stroller.

  4. Your evening walks are adorable. We’ve had a few after dinner walks but I can’t always predict how dinner will go and if that will work. And on days I work, we don’t get home until 7 or so

  5. Lindsay says:

    Soon the weather will make it harder for all of us to get out! 😦 I am not a big fan of leisurely walks in the snow.

  6. Mel says:

    It’s a good time for long walks. So much nicer than indoor walks in winter.

  7. Indoors with a toddler all winter is going to be ridiculous. Save me!

  8. I adore my walks with Carter! Dylan is still at the point where walking with her is terrible. She can run in the “wrong direction” at the speed of light but will just sit down or walk absurdly slow in the direction we are going. She also insists on carrying things that are heavy and big and slow her down. Unless she has the freedom to go wherever she wants at whatever rate, I still throw her in the carrier most of the time. So glad all the walking is helping Wallace!

  9. Parul says:

    Walking builds stronger back. I learnt it the hard way and I’m sure this holds good for children too 🙂

  10. I miss wearing him for so many reasons! Soon she will have this going for walks thing down and not just run all over the place.

  11. Yes walking is great for core strength! He had low muscle tone throughout his whole body and couldn’t walk at all until he was 18 months old. It has been a gradual process and he is doing great now. I love biking for my exercise and he gets to ride in a seat on my bike.

Leave a comment