MicroBlog Monday: Three times

Two and a half weeks ago I decided to get an ear piercing that is supposed to help with migraines. It is called a daith piercing and I first heard about it over a year ago, then a friend showed me hers over a month ago, and then a woman in my AIP support group was talking about it. True to form, third time I learned about it I was ready to give it a try.

Right after getting it done.

When I had first learned about it, I dismissed it because it didn’t have any strong evidence that I could find online. Acupuncturists dispute the validity of the points it goes through and yet there is anecdotal evidence that shows it works. I have decreased my pain and migraines so much with diet changes but was still getting debilitating migraines that medicine wasn’t helping. So far since getting it done, I have had two migraines and a few headaches that felt like they might get bad but didn’t.

The piercing itself was quite painful and I have a lot of experience to compare it to. The evening after, it felt like the nerves on the whole right side of my head were protesting and I had to take ibuprofin. I had issues with a small tear and swelling on days 5 and 6 and had to get the jewelry switched out, which was more painful than the initial piercing. It is back to healing but could be months before I can sleep on my right side. If all goes well then I might get my left side pierced as well as my migraines are not one sided.
This ended up longer than intended, oops! Today is the last day for the Poofy Organics sale so go check that out!

About Jenn P

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in background, body talk, Linked Up, Microblog Monday, pictures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MicroBlog Monday: Three times

  1. I hadn’t heard about that! I’ll be interested to see how it goes for you. Thankfully, my migraines have been manageable, but it’s good to know of options. Do you think it already prevented some of those headaches from getting worse?

  2. I think it did help keep them from getting worse! I have strong diet/migraine connections so AIP has helped a ton but a few times I thought I would get a bad migraine I didn’t. Also, my migraines typically start as pain right at my neck/occiput and spread up and over my head. My neck pain has been mostly left sided now though I am also only sleeping on my left side so who knows.

Leave a comment