MicroBlog Monday: The Pool

We were finally invited to my dad’s girlfriend’s to swim in their apartment’s pool with them. I had us packed and ready to head over before I got the confirmation they were still swimming. Wallace was tentative at first and we slowly got in at the steps. It was a tad chilly until we got in and there were 6 kids playing like kids do. It was only his second time in a pool and he has been in a lake once.

Eventually he got the hang of the Puddle Jumper and was less freaked out by the kids. He kicked his legs in the water, let me help support his body, and sat on the edge and “jumped” in. His low muscle tone was pretty apparent and he couldn’t keep his trunk how he wanted it. Hopefully we get invited back regularly and he can get lots of practice swimming.

image

The only picture I got of him in the water.

image

I need to do something about my top.

About Jenn P

Single mom by choice, lesbian, natural living, parenting, car free, Chicago.Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment!
This entry was posted in family, Parenting, pictures and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to MicroBlog Monday: The Pool

  1. kayrosey says:

    Swimming regularly really would help with his low tone. Am I remembering right in that the only thing to really do for that condition is 20+ minutes of daily exercise?
    Maybe a y membership would be good for him?

  2. There is a lot more to do than exercise. He had physical therapy in Chicago and should still but the minimum delay here is higher so he doesn’t qualify for EI. He also has orthotics but he has outgrown them. Our doctor appt keeps getting canceled on us but hopefully I can get him back in orthotics soon. He also had feeding therapy before because he had hisses eating.

  3. Mel says:

    Fun! I hope you get invited back a lot this summer so he can keep swimming.

  4. I hope so too! He really liked it.

  5. That’s wonderful! Hopefully you can go a lot more and have him practice. 🙂

  6. Lindsay says:

    Looks like a fun time! I have so many good memories of swimming experiences as a kid.

    Are there any community pools nearby? Evie takes swimming lessons at school and when I took her to our community pool, I was so surprised at how confident she was in the water. She’s obsessed with “‘wimming” now.

  7. There is a Y not far away. I wanted to take him when we lived here before but didn’t have the money to go. I should look into it again but all we would use is the pool since that’s all we could do together. The apartments my mom just applied to has a pool, don’t know if it is inside or out.

Leave a comment